Night Birds Detail 'Mutiny on Muscle Beach' LP for Fat Wreck Chords

Night Birds Detail 'Mutiny on Muscle Beach' LP for Fat Wreck Chords
New Jersey quartet Night Birds are ready to soak us with another collection of surfy hardcore sounds, with the band's new Mutiny at Muscle Beach collection set to land later this fall. Fat Wreck Chords puts it into stores October 30.

While Night Birds had delivered their "Maimed for the Masses" 7-inch single through Fat in 2013, this marks the first time the act have issued a full-length album for the iconic punk imprint. The group's 2011 debut LP The Other Side of Darkness and 2013 follow-up Born to Die in Suburbia were released through Grave Mistake.

This latest LP contains 12 tracks that were recorded at Brooklyn, NY's Seaside Lounge Studios with producer Chris Pierce. The album is also the first Night Birds full-length to find drummer Darick Sater working the skins.

A press release notes that the record further explores "the surf-inspired '80s hardcore sound" that Night Birds have been working with since 2009. Touchstones include the Adolescents, D.I., Dead Kennedys and more, though the album is also said to feature "a healthy dose of passionate innovation."

Down below, you'll find the full tracklisting for Mutiny at Muscle Beach, as well as a stream of its closing cut, "Left in the Middle." While the new Night Birds album lands in October, the punky number is also featured on the forthcoming Fat Music Vol. 8: Going Nowhere Fat compilation, which arrives on CD and as a digital download on August 7, and on LP by September 18.

Mutiny on Muscle Beach:

1. (I'm) Wired
2. Life is Not Amusement For Me
3. Blank Eyes
4. Lapsed Catholics Need Discipline
5. In the Red/In the Black
6. Golden Age of TV
7. Mutiny at Muscle Beach
8. Son of Dad
9. Off the Grid
10. King Kong
11. Miskatonic Stomp
12. Left in the Middle