Captain Beefheart Material Treated to 'Sun Zoom Spark' Box Set

Captain Beefheart Material Treated to 'Sun Zoom Spark' Box Set
It's never too early to start worrying about the perfect gift for that noise-rock freak in your family, and the good folks at Rhino have got you covered with plans for a posthumous, four-disc box set from the legendary Captain Beefheart (a.k.a. Don Van Vliet).

Following the release of Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band's seminal Trout Mask Replica in 1969, the artist cranked out three more LPs. Those included 1970's Lick My Decals Off, Baby, along with 1972's one-two punch of The Spotlight Kid and Clear Spot.

Those three albums will be collected in a new box set called Sun Zoom Spark: 1970 to 1972, along with a bonus disc that includes 14 outtakes. That previously unreleased material includes instrumental versions of songs, alternate takes and mixes, and other supplemental material.

Sun Zoom Spark will arrive on November 11 through Rhino. It'll be available as a four-CD or four-LP box set. The full tracklisting is available below.

Thanks to Pitchfork for the tip.

Lick My Decals Off, Baby:

1. Lick My Decals Off, Baby
2. Doctor Dark
3. I Love You, You Big Dummy
4. Peon
5. Bellerin' Plain
6. Woe-Is-uh-Me-Bop
7. Japan in a Dishpan
8. I Wanna Find a Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go
9. Petrified Forest
10. One Red Rose That I Mean
11. The Buggy Boogie Woogie
12. The Smithsonian Institute Blues (or the Big Dig)
13. Space-Age Couple
14. The Clouds Are Full of Wine (not Whiskey or Rye)
15. Flash Gordon's Ape

The Spotlight Kid:

1. I'm Gonna Booglarize You Baby
2. White Jam
3. Blabber 'n Smoke
4. When It Blows Its Stacks
5. Alice in Blunderland
6. The Spotlight Kid
7. Click Clack
8. Grow Fins
9. There Ain't No Santa Claus on the Evenin' Stage
10. Glider

Clear Spot:

1. Low Yo Yo Stuff
2. Nowadays a Woman's Gotta Hit a Man
3. Too Much Time
4. Circumstances
5. My Head Is My Only House Unless It Rains
6. Sun Zoom Spark
7. Clear Spot
8. Crazy Little Thing
9. Long Neck Bottles
10. Her Eyes Are a Blue Million Miles
11. Big Eyed Beans from Venus
12. Golden Birdies


1. Alice in Blunderland (Alternate Version)
2. Harry Irene
3. I Can't Do This Unless I Can Do This/Seam Crooked Sam
4. Pompadour Swamp/Suction Prints
5. The Witch Doctor Life (Instrumental Take)
6. Two Rips in a Haystack/Kiss Me My Love
7. Best Batch Yet (Version 1)
8. Your Love Brought Me To Life - Instrumental
9. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 1)
10. Nowadays a Woman's Gotta Hit a Man (Early Mix)
11. Kiss Where I Kain't
12. Circumstances (Alternate Version 2)
13. Little Scratch
14. Dirty Blue Gene (Alternate Version 3)