Arthur Russell's 'Love Is Overtaking Me' and 'Calling Out of Context' Treated to Vinyl Reissues

Arthur Russell's 'Love Is Overtaking Me' and 'Calling Out of Context' Treated to Vinyl Reissues
Arthur Russell was just celebrated with a massive, star-studded tribute album, and now that even more people have been introduced to the late pop experimentalist, he's being treated to a couple of new vinyl reissues from Audika Records.

On November 18, the label will release a vinyl repressing of Love Is Overtaking Me, a 2008 compilation consisting of 21 demos, home recordings and rare tracks that span close to two decades (with the earliest dating back to the early '70s). It primarily focuses on folksy singer-songwriter material, and downplays Russell's cello-heavy and disco-inspired undertakings.

This will be followed on January 6 by a vinyl reissue of Calling Out of Context. This 2004 compilation of hitherto-unreleased songs helped to raise Russell's posthumous profile significantly, since it was the first in a string of releases on Audika. Stylistically, it focuses more on arty synth-pop — or "Buddhist bubblegum alt disco pop" — and was made between 1985 and 1990.

Both of these will arrive on double vinyl. Although both of them have been released on wax before, this is nevertheless welcome news for Russell's ever-growing fanbase, since both of the records on vinyl can fetch well over $100 on online vendors.

Both of the vinyl reissues can currently be pre-ordered over at Light in the Attic.

Love Is Overtaking Me:

1. Close My Eyes
2. Goodbye Old Paint
3. Maybe She
4. Oh Fernanda Why
5. Time Away
6. Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart
7. I Couldn't Say It To Your Face
8. This Time Dad You're Wrong
9. What It's Like
10. Eli
11. Hey! How Does Everybody Know
12. I Forget And I Can't Tell (Ballad Of The Lights Pt. 1)
13. Habit Of You
14. Janine
15. Big Moon
16. Your Motion Says
17. The Letter
18. Don't Forget About Me
19. Love Is Overtaking Me
20. Planted A Thought
21. Love Comes Back

Calling Out of Context:

1. The Deer In The Forest Part One
2. The Platform On The Ocean
3. You And Me Both
4. Calling Out Of Context
5. Arm Around You
6. That's Us/Wild Combination
7. Make 1,2
8. Hop On Down
9. Get Around To It
10. I Like You
11. You Can Make Me Feel Bad
12. Calling All Kids (remixed by Walter Gibbons)