Trans Am Return with 'Volume X'

Trans Am Return with 'Volume X'
Long-running trio Trans Am have announced they're revving up their engines again, with news that the band's 10th album arrives this spring. Fittingly, it's titled Volume X, and it lands May 20 through Thrill Jockey.

Multi-instrumentalist Nathan Means explained to Spin that the band have been working on the follow-up to 2010's Thing off and on for the last four years, with the self-produced collection offering up 10 mostly instrumental new tunes. Means played bass, keyboards and drums throughout the set, while Phil Manley (Life Coach) played guitar and current Baroness skins-basher Sebastian Thomson likewise laid down drum beats.

"The first track was one of the more fun ones to record," Means said of the album's "Anthropocene."

While the song has not yet been available to fans, a press release explains that the track features an intro of "serene synthesizer ambience" before putting the focus on a "massive, fuzzy riff" and Thomson's "relentless, pounding groove." Elsewhere, the set is said to be informed by anything from Kraftwerk ("Night Shift") to KIll 'Em All-styled thrash ("Backlash").

Of the album sessions, Means explained further: "We recorded everything the old-fashioned way — in-studio, everyone plays their part, then records as a band. I'd play the drums as fast as I could, and come back into the studio sweating and breathing heavy."

Though the first teaser single from Volume X is expected to arrive sometime in the next couple of weeks, a pre-order for the set has already been made available over here.

  Volume X:

1. Anthropocene

2. Reevaluations

3. Night Shift

4. K Street

5. Backlash

6. Ice Fortress

7. Failure

8. I'll Never

9. Megastorm

10. Insufficiently Breathless