The New Year Return with Their First Album in Nearly a Decade

The New Year Return with Their First Album in Nearly a Decade
Ending a seriously long dry spell, long-gone indie unit the New Year will return with a new album this year. Called Snow, the band's new LP — their first since 2008's self-titled effort — will arrive on April 28 via Undertow Music.

While Matt and Bubba Kadane's much-loved Bedhead project was celebrated with a career-spanning box set via Numero Group in 2014, this new studio effort from their New Year project has indeed been a long time coming. Apparently, though, the New Year had been "polishing demos into full-fledged songs, refining and reworking lyrics, basically taking their time" through all the years of silence.

Marking the fourth album by the New Year, Snow was eventually recorded at various locations over the years, including Steve Albini's Electrical Audio, the Echo Lab in Denton, and at various home studios in Texas, New York and California.

A press release promises, "Snow is another volume of music that will quietly change lives, will fill in the empty spaces and bring warmth on winter days and lonely summer nights."

For a taste of that, you can listen to the newly shared heart-tugger of a song "Recent History" below the tracklist for Snow, where you'll also find an album trailer. You can pre-order the record here.


1. Mayday
2. Snow
3. Homebody
4. Recent History
5. The Last Fall
6. Myths
7. The Party's Over
8. Amnesia
9. The Beast
10. Dead and Alive