Sigur Rós to Celebrate 'Ágætis Byrjun' with Concert Stream

Sigur Rós to Celebrate 'Ágætis Byrjun' with Concert Stream
On June 12, 1999, post-rocking Icelandic stargazers Sigur Rós celebrated the release of their album Ágætis Byrjun with a performance at the Icelandic Opera House in their hometown of Reykjavík. To celebrate the 16th anniversary of that event, the band will be streaming that concert in its entirety this Friday (June 12).

The show will be streamed in its entirety just once. It's an hour and 40 minutes long and the broadcast begins at 5 p.m. EDT (2 p.m. PDT). That's 9 p.m. GMT, which is the same time that the original concert took place. It will go live right here.

The 11-song recording has been newly mixed by former member Kjartan Sveinsson at Sundlaugin Studios. The set draws equally on Ágætis Byrjun and the prior Von, and was the last performance with founding drummer Ágúst Ævar Gunnarsson.

This Live at the Icelandic Opera House recording will be officially released later this year as part of the previously announced deluxe vinyl reissue of Ágætis Byrjun. Details for that box set are still forthcoming.