Robert Wyatt Unveils New Collaborative Album

Robert Wyatt Unveils New Collaborative Album
Jazz/prog/psych trailblazer Robert Wyatt has been in the music biz for close to 50 years, but he still has the ability to surprise listeners. In recent years, he has collaborated with synthpop outfit Hot Chip, as well as jazz chanteuse Jeanette Lindström and French pop hero Bertrand Burgalat. Now, the former Soft Machine member is getting ready to release an album with saxophonist Gilad Atzmon and violinist Ros Stephen, due out on October 11 in the UK via Domino.

The album is called For the Ghosts Within and it will be released under the band name Wyatt, Atzmon, Stephen. The 11-track collection is being called a "song cycle," and it features Wyatt-penned originals alongside jazz oldies like "In a Sentimental Mood" and "What a Wonderful World."

Domino says that the album "places Wyatt's voice (and whistling) amid the seductive drama of string quartet, alto saxophone, and the universal rhythms of the night."

This album is the fulfillment of a dream for Wyatt. Last year, he told the Guardian that Atzmon was the best musician in the world, saying "I was a Gilad groupie. I used to follow him around without him knowing, which is slightly sinister, you might think."

For the Ghosts Inside:

1. "Laura"

2. "Lullaby for Irene"

3. "The Ghosts Within"

4. "Where Are They Now"

5. "Maryan"

6. "Round Midnight"

7. "Lush Life"

8. "What's New"

9. "In a Sentimental Mood"

10. "At Last I Am Free"

11. "What  a Wonderful World"