Robert Wyatt Honoured with Career-spanning Collection

Robert Wyatt Honoured with Career-spanning Collection
Following last year's archival release '68, revered Soft Machine member and solo artist Robert Wyatt is ready to release of a career-spanning collection called Different Every Time. The two-disc set arrives in North America November 18 through Domino and a day earlier overseas.

  A press release explains that the 30-song compilation observes over 40 years of Wyatt's career, from his early days playing drums in English rock group Soft Machine to his singer-songwriter solo material to various collaborations he's tracked over the years. The collection was curated by Wyatt, Domino and writer Marcus O'Dair, whose Different Every Time biography on Wyatt lands October 30 in the UK.

The first disc, dubbed Ex Machina, starts off with Soft Machine's epic 1970 number "Moon in June" and a pair of tracks from prog-rock outfit Matching Mole, in which Wyatt also played drums. As far as his solo material goes, it runs from a live version of his "A Last Straw," whose studio version appeared on 1974's Rock Bottom, through to material from his most recent full-length, 2007's Comicopera.

Dubbed Benign Dictators, the second disc features a variety of collaborative tracks issued over the years. Artists featured include John Cage and Jan Steele, Björk, Hot Chip, Pink Floyd's Nick Mason and more.

You'll find the full tracklisting down below, along with a stream of "Shipbuilding" down below.

Different Every Time:

Disc 1 - Ex Machina:

1. Soft Machine "Moon In June"
2. Matching Mole "Signed Curtain"
3. Matching Mole "God Song"
4. Robert Wyatt "A Last Straw"
5. Robert Wyatt "Yesterday Man"
6. Robert Wyatt "Team Spirit"
7. Robert Wyatt  "At Last I Am Free"
8. Robert Wyatt "The Age Of Self"
9. Robert Wyatt "Worship"
10. Robert Wyatt "Free Will And Testament"
11. Robert Wyatt "Cuckoo Madame"
12. Robert Wyatt "Beware"
13. Robert Wyatt "Just As You Are"

  Disc 2 - Benign Dictatorships:

1. Jeanette Lindstrom "The River"
2. Anja Garbarek "The Diver"
3. Hot Chip "We're Looking For A Lot Of Love"
4. Epic Soundtracks "Jellybabies"
5. Robert Wyatt "Shipbuilding"
7. Happy End "Turn Things Upside Down"
8. Monica Vasconcelos "Still In The Dark"
9. Working Week "Venceremos" (bossa mix)
10. Phil Manzanera "Frontera"
11. Steve Nieve + Robert Wyatt + Muriel Teodori "La Plus Belle Langue"
12. Cristina Dona "Goccia"
13. Nick Mason"Siam"
14. Mike Mantler "A L'abbatoire"
15. Mike Mantler "Sinking Spell"
16. Bjork "Submarine"
17. Cage/Steele "Experiences No. 2"