The Numero Group Explores the Realms of "Wizard Rock" on New Comp

The Numero Group Explores the Realms of "Wizard Rock" on New Comp
Building up on the promise of this year's velvet pentagram-adorned Medusa LP, the Numero Group has announced it will deliver even more occult-inspired rarities next year via its self-described "wizard rock" compilation Warfaring Strangers: Darkscorch Canticles.

A press release for the set, which arrives February 18, explains that the LP contains 16 "stout chunks of stoned basement rock" that occasionally invoke the name of Satan and Lord of the Rings villain Sauron. Fans of the label will note that the Warfaring Strangers banner is a self-referential play on Numero's folk-minded Wayfaring Strangers series of releases.

On top of topics of "mythology, armored conflict, sorcery and doom," the collection apparently sounds as if it were inspired by the dark lord riffing of Black Sabbath's Tony Iommi and the drumming of Led Zeppelin's John Bonham.

For a taste of what's in store, you can stream a few selections from the comp down below, where you'll also find the tracklist. As you'll notice, canticles are included from Medusa, as well as other relative unknowns Gorgon Medusa, Stonehenge, Stone Axe, Hellstorm and Air (who are, of course, not to be confused with the French synth unit).

Both the LP and CD editions will arrive in embossed, foil-stamped editions.

With the compilation's release more than a few months off, Numero is giving you guys plenty of time to grow a majestical Gandalf-style beard, pick yourself out a really nice wizard staff and, you know, keep not having a girlfriend.

Warfaring Strangers: Darkscorch Canticles:

1. Air - "Twelve O'Clock Satanial"
2. Wrath - "Warlord"
3. Stonehenge - "King of the Golden Hall"
4. Triton Warrior - "Sealed in a Grave"
5. Junction - "Sorcerer"
6. Stone Axe - "Slave of Fear"
7. Wizard - "Seance"
8. Stoned Mace - "Tasmania"
9. Arrogance - "Black Death"
10. Sonaura - "Song of Sauron"
11. Dark Star - "Spectre"
12. Inside - "Wizzard King"
13. Space Rock - "Dark Days"
14. Medusa - "Black Wizard"
15. Gorgon Medusa - "Sweet Child"
16. Hellstorm - "Cry For The Newborn"