​Neil Young Sets New Release Date for 'Hitchhiker' LP, Shares Title Track

​Neil Young Sets New Release Date for 'Hitchhiker' LP, Shares Title Track
Neil Young's storied lost album Hitchhiker will finally see the light of day. Following a rumoured released date of July 14 and then August 4, the long-lost LP will finally now be treated to an official release on September 8 via Reprise.
Rumours of the record's impending arrival have been swirling for months, but the album at long last is set for a proper release.

As previously reported, Hitchhiker was originally recorded in 1976 with producer David Briggs, over the span of one day in Malibu, capturing the sounds of just Young's voice and a guitar.

Some of those tracks later evolved and wound up on albums like Comes a Time, Rust Never Sleeps and Hawks & Doves, while "Hitchhiker" was re-recorded for 2010's Le Noise. Hitchhiker also features previously unheard gems, as well, though; "Hawaii" and "Give Me Strength" appear on the album in recorded form for the first time.
As a previously leaked press release suggested, the forthcoming release features new post-production by John Hanlon.
The first sample of the freshly unearthed material has arrived with a touched-up version of the 1976 original title track. Scroll past the Hitchhiker tracklisting to give it a listen.
1. Pocahontas
2. Powderfinger
3. Captain Kennedy
4. Hawaii
5. Give Me Strength
6. Ride My Llama
7. Hitchhiker
8. Campaigner
9. Human Highway
10. The Old Country Waltz

Pick up a copy of Neil Young's Live at Massey Hall on vinyl here.