Montreal's Sweat Announce Debut Album

Montreal's Sweat Announce Debut Album
After building up a buzz with live shows and a few online singles, reverb-drenched Montreal foursome Sweat are gearing up for the release of their self-titled debut. The EP first arrives digitally on April 2, with a physical edition arriving on cassette April 10 through Human Sounds Records.

A press release explains that Sweat are led by Edmonton ex-pat Robben Lent, who started the project with bassist Jordan Siemens after moving to Montreal in 2014. There, they hooked up with guitarist/vocalist Georgia Gleason and drummer Alan McTavish, and quickly started playing basement shows around Montreal.

The seven-song release finds the band flirting with elements of indie, pop rock, soul and more.

Along with the tracklisting details, you'll find streams of "Keep Tight" and the Gleason-sung "Number One" below. Both previews are jangled pieces that could be likened to the similarly reverb-heavy sounds of modern-day tunesmiths like TOPS or Mac DeMarco.

You can pre-order Sweat's debut over here.


1. Ain't Easy 
2. Keep Tight
3. Workin' Late
4. Superstar 
5. No Shirts No Faceshots 
6. Driftin' 
7. Number One