The Kinks to Celebrate 50th Anniversary with 'Anthology' Box Set, Expanded 'Muswell Hillbillies' and New Best-Of

The Kinks to Celebrate 50th Anniversary with 'Anthology' Box Set, Expanded 'Muswell Hillbillies' and New Best-Of
The Kinks still haven't released that reunion album everybody hoped they might, but the classic pop band have now confirmed plans to revisit their golden era with a 50th anniversary box set. The Anthology 1964-1971 will be out on November 3.

As NME reports, the five-CD set will include more than 100 remastered tracks from the band's early days, including timeless favourites like "You Really Got Me" and "Waterloo Sunset." There are also rarities in the form of demos, outtakes and alternate mixes. There are 25 previously unreleased tracks in all, plus a 7-inch and interviews with the band members.

This comes 50 years after the Kinks hit it big with "You Really Got Me" in 1964. It follows in the wake of a string of Kinks-related projects, like reissues, a documentary and a musical.

Meanwhile, there's still hope that the Kinks may reunite, since famously feuding brothers Ray and Dave Davies have reportedly patched up some of their personal differences. Their plans are still unconfirmed, however.

UPDATE: It tuns out that the box set is only a small part of a larger reissue campaign. As a press release confirms, 16 Kinks albums (listed below) have been remastered and made available as hi-resolution digital downloads as of September 9 via Legacy Recordings. On October 14, a new double-CD best-of called The Essential Kinks will also arrive, while an expanded version of 1971's Muswell Hillbillies will come out as a CD/DVD package on November 10. A double-LP version of Muswell will arrive later this year. You can see the reissue tracklist below as well.

Kinks digital reissues:

Muswell Hillbillies
Everybody's In Show-Biz
Preservation: Act 1
Preservation: Act 2
Soap Opera
Schoolboys In Disgrace
The Kinks Greatest: Celluloid Heroes
Low Budget
One For The Road (Live)
Give The People What They Want
State Of Confusion
Word Of Mouth
Return To Waterloo
Come Dancing With The Kinks/The Best Of The Kinks 1977-1986

The Essential Kinks:

Disc One:

1. You Really Got Me
2. Stop Your Sobbing
3. All Day and All of the Night
4. Tired of Waiting For You
5. Nothin' In This World Can Stop Me Worryin' 'Bout That Girl
6. Ev'rybody's Gonna Be Happy
7. A Well Respected Man
8. Dedicated Follower of Fashion
9. Who'll Be The Next In Line
10. Set Me Free
11. See My Friends
12. Sunny Afternoon
13. Dead End Street
14. Death of a Clown
15. Autumn Almanac
16. David Watts
17. Waterloo Sunset
18. Days
19. The Village Green Preservation Society
20. Do You Remember Walter?
21. Picture Book
22. Victoria
23. Apeman
24. Strangers
25. 20th Century Man
26. Supersonic Rocket Ship
27. Celluloid Heroes

Disc Two:

1. Here Comes Yet Another Day
2. You Don't Know My Name
3. Till the End of the Day (Live)
4. One of the Survivors
5. Sweet Lady Genevieve
6. Everybody's a Star (Starmaker)
7. Life on the Road
8. Sleepwalker
9. Life Goes On
10. A Rock 'N' Roll Fantasy
11. Father Christmas
12. (Wish I Could Fly Like) Superman
13. Lola (Live)
14. Where Have All The Good Times Gone (Live)
15. Better Things
16. Destroyer
17. Come Dancing
18. Don't Forget to Dance
19. Do It Again
20. Living On A Thin Line
21. Scattered

Muswell Hillbillies, Legacy Edition:

Disc 1:

Original Album:

1. 20th Century Man
2. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues
3. Holiday
4. Skin And Bone
5. Alcohol
6. Complicated Life
7. Here Come The People In Grey
8. Have A Cuppa Tea
9. Holloway Jail
10. Oklahoma U.S.A.
11. Uncle Son
12. Muswell Hillbilly

Bonus Tracks:

13. Lavender Lane (previously unreleased in North America)
14. Mountain Woman
15. Have A Cuppa Tea (alternate version) (previously unreleased in North America)
16. Uncle Son (alternate version) (previously unreleased in North America)
17. Kentucky Moon
18. Nobody's Fool (demo) (previously unreleased in North America)
19. 20th Century Man (alternate instrumental take) (previously unreleased in North America)
20. Queenie (backing track) (previously unreleased in North America)
21. Muswell Hillbillies US radio spots (previously unissued) (previously unreleased in North America)

Disc 2 (DVD):

The Old Grey Whistle Test - BBC TV 4 January 1972:

1. Have A Cuppa Tea
2. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues

Live at the Rainbow - BBC TV 21 July 1972:

3. Till The End Of The Day
4. Waterloo Sunset
5. The Money-Go-Round
6. Sunny Afternoon
7. The Virgin Soldier March
8. She Bought A Hat Like Princess Marina
9. Alcohol
10. Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues
11. You Really Got Me