Here Are the Winners of the 2017 Indigenous Music Awards

Here Are the Winners of the 2017 Indigenous Music Awards
Formerly known as the Aboriginal Peoples' Choice Music Awards, the newly titled Indigenous Music Awards took place at Winnipeg's Club Regent Event Centre last night (May 19). The event celebrated and honoured achievements from Indigenous artists and industry professionals around the globe.

Throughout the ceremony, awards were handed out in 14 categories. There were also performances from the likes of Fred Penner, Crystal Shawanda, Northern Cree, Christa Couture, Mariame and Kimberley Dawne.

Exclaim! was proud to present the Best Music Video award, which was handed to District Avenue.

Check out the full list of winners below.

2017 Indigenous Music Awards nominees:

Best Blues Album:  

Blue Dog - Red-White & Blues
Cary Morin – Cradle to the Grave
Grey Gritt – Live at the NACC
Levi Platero – Levi Platero
The Gary Sappier Blues Band – The Gary Sappier Blues Band, Vol. 2 

Best Country Album:

Cory Cardinal – North of Town Roads
Jade Turner – North Country
JC Campbell – Four Letter Lie
Kimberley Dawn – Til the Cowboys Come Home
Renée Lamoureux – Dare to Be You
Best Folk Album: 

Christa Couture – Long Time Leaving
Logan Staats – Goodbye Goldia
Nadia & Jason Burnstick - Dream Big Little One
Nick Sherman – Knives and Wildrice
Twin Flames – Jaaji & Chelsey June  
Best Inuit, Indigenous Language, or Francophone Album: 

Frazer Sundown – Love is a War Dance 
Nimuk – Nimuk & Friends
Rhonda Head – Kisakihitan
Silla + Rose – Debut
Skicinawatuwahtiq – Skicinawatuwahtiq  

Best Instrumental Album:

Cris Derksen – Cris Derksen: Orchestral Powwow
DJ Shub – PowWowStep
R. Carlos Nakai Quartet – What Lies Beyond
Sean Beaver – NYD
Ziibiwan – Time Limits  

Best Pop Album: 

Awaken Aries – The Extraordinaries Anthology Vol. 1
Carsen Gray – CARSEN GRAY
Jace Martin – Mighty
Mariame – Bloom
Native Roots – Most High
Tara Williamson – Songs to Keep Us Warm  

Best Rap/Hip Hop Album: 

B. of Dakota South Records – OHHH! B.
City Natives – Nomadic
Chase Manhattan – Warrior DNA
Joey Stylez – #GREYMAGIC
J-Rez – Tipi Creepin'
Rellik – The Dream 

Best Rock Album:

Digawolf – Great Northern Man
Julian Taylor Band – Desert Star
Kristi Lane Sinclair – Dark Matter
The Bloodshots – The Bloodshots
The Deeds – Late O'Clock  

Best New Artist: 

Bryden Gwiss Kiwenzie – Round Dance and Beats
Carsen Gray – CARSEN GRAY
Lisa Muswagon – Buffalo and Rabbits
Mariame – Bloom
Ziibiwan – Time Limits

Best Radio Single: 

Black & Grey – Pretty Little Nightmare
Carsen Gray – Supernatural
DJ Shub – Old School is for Lovers feat. Morningstar River
Mob Bounce – All My Relations
NADJIWAN – All Those Years
Wolf Saga – Auburn Nights 

Best Music Video (presented by Exclaim!): 

DJ Shub – Indomitable feat. Northern Cree Singers
District Avenue – Revival
Jade Turner – Worth
JC Campbell – Four Letter Lie
Logan Staats – Ash's

Best Producer/Engineer: 

Crystal Shawanda, New Sun Records – Missy Knott/My Sister's Heart
Derek Miller, Thru The Red Door – Logan Staats/Goodbye Goldia
Larry Mitchell, Indigenous Solutions, Inc. Studios – Indigie Femme/Justify
Murray Pulver, Murray Pulver – JC Campbell/Four Letter Lie
Tom Dutiaume, Hangar Studio – Kimberley Dawn/Til The Cowboys Come Home 

Best International Indigenous Release: 

Glenn Skuthorpe – See My World
LUMALTOK - Vukub Ja'Vil Ta Lumaltok / Siete Años entre La Neblina
Tasha T – Fire In Me
The Imbayakunas – Imbaya Full Flavour
Warren H Williams & Dani Young – Desert Water 

Best Radio Station Program – Promoting Indigenous Music: 

Indigenous in Music with Larry K
Unreserved: Radio Indigenous, CBC Radio One
IndiPOW with Layla Black, Jukasa Radio
Native Waves Radio/NDNs on the Airwave, Native Waves Radio/2Ro Media Inc.
ThinkNDN, 100.5fm CFRO