Emeralds Gear Up for Mego Debut Does It Look Like I'm Here?

Emeralds Gear Up for Mego Debut <i>Does It Look Like I'm Here?</i>
Since forming in 2006, Cleveland trio Emeralds have carved their own sound by combining elements of ambient electronic music with synth-heavy textures and layers of Krautrock experimentation. The resulting releases have seen the band develop into one of the more exciting electronic trios working today, but the majority of their releases have come in frustratingly limited runs. Fortunately, that will change with the release of Does It Look Like I'm Here?, their third "official" album and first for Peter Rehberg's much-touted experimental dance imprint Editions Mego.

According to the label, this album "sees the group moving from playing single oscillator analog synthesizers to really complex analog and analog/digital hybrid, as well a great deal of guitar synthesizers, not to mention fine tuning their skills as brilliant tunesmiths." To dumb it down for you, think of Fennesz, Ashra, M83, Fuck Buttons and Michael Rother mixed up in a blender and spit out into one great mash of tripped-out electronic music-making.

Speaking with FACT, Emeralds' John Elliott explained that the big changes, which also see the band embracing shorter more melodic structures, were a long time coming.

"The new album was absolutely a big progression, however, the public sees us move at a very different rate than we see ourselves move on a day to day basis," he says. "We've acquired a lot of new equipment, and we keep getting more and more. With synthesizers the possibilities start to multiply the more you have with respect to functionality. We have new ideas to bring more complex rhythms forward as well as incorporating other new instruments we may have not used in Emeralds before."

You can look for Does It Look Like I'm Here? on May 24 via Editions Mego. In the meantime, check out the killer lead-off track "Candy Shoppe" below.

Does It Look Like I'm Here?:

1. "Candy Shoppe"

2. "The Cycle Of Abuse"

3. "Double Helix"

4. "Science Center"

5. "Genetic"

6. "Goes By"

7. "Does It Look Like I'm Here?"

8. "Summerdata"

9. "Shade"

10. "It Doesn't Arrive"

11. "Now You See Me"

12. "Access Granted"