Earlimart Return with 'System Preferences'

Earlimart Return with 'System Preferences'
If it feels like it's been a while since you heard from Earlimart, it's not just your imagination. The California indie rock band have been on hiatus, but now they're getting ready to follow up 2008's Hymn and Her with a new LP. Entitled System Preferences, it will be out digitally on September 18 via the band's own label, the Ship. Vinyl and CD copies will follow on October 16.

According to a press release, System Preferences is a "lush and lovely soundtrack for a sad, beautiful world" that "touches on disillusionment with and acceptance of technology, complex relationships, and lost weekends." It's reportedly not a huge departure from the band's previous six albums, although they have "grown as songwriters and producers."

See the album's tracklist below and the cover above, plus scroll to the bottom of the page to download the song "97 Heart Attack" for free in exchange for your email address.

Since the last time Earlimart released music, the band's Aaron Espinoza has been composing film scores and producing albums. He and and bandmate Ariana Murray also teamed up with members of Grandaddy to release an album as Admiral Radley.

System Preferences:

1. U&Me
2. Shame
3. 10 Years
4. A Goodbye
5. 97 Heart Attack
6. Lovely Mary Ann
7. Crestline, CA.
8. I'm A Safe Inside
9. Get Used to the Sound
10. Sweater Weather
11. Internet Summer
12. Over Andover