Deadbeat Returns with 'Eight'

Deadbeat Returns with 'Eight'
Canadian-born electronic producer Deadbeat (aka Scott Monteith) has been serving up dubby tunes for over a decade, building up a hefty catalogue on the way. The musician will be releasing his second album through his recently formed BLKRTZ label on September 10. This will be his eight album overall, and fittingly, it will be titled Eight.

According to a press release, the follow-up to last year's Drawn and Quartered maintains the dub and techno vibe of Deadbeat's previous work and finds him surrounded by a number of collaborators. Guests include Berlin-based Canadian Matthew Jonson, Cobblestone Jazz's Danuel Tate, and minimalist performer Dandy Jack.

Most of the tracks are exclusive to the triple LP, though album closer "Horns of Jericho" was issued on Dandy Jack's recent Rebirth EP and two different versions of Monteith and Tate's "Lazy Jane" were issued on a twelve-inch in April. You can check the entire tracklist below.


1. The Elephant in the Pool

2. Lazy Jane (Steppers Dub) (ft. Danuel Tate)

3. Alamut

4. Wolves and Angels (ft. Mathew Jonson)

5. Punta de Chorros

6. My Rotten Roots

7. Yard

8. Horns of Jericho (ft. Dandy Jack)