Cherry Red Records Compiling Classic Tracks from Pulp, Felt, Slowdive for New Box Set

Cherry Red Records Compiling Classic Tracks from Pulp, Felt, Slowdive for New Box Set
UK label Cherry Red Records has been on the scene for decades, with much of its catalogue devoted to classic indie pop and rock reissues. Now, the company is planning on putting together a box set called Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie-Pop 1980-1989, bringing together some of the era's finest underground talent.

The set currently doesn't have much in the way of confirmed information, but Slicing Up Eyeballs reports that it will contain four CDs and has the tentative release date of spring 2013.

Cherry Red posted a list of songs being considered for the package on Facebook. Although this list is speculative and by no means final, some of the artists in the running for the set include Pulp, the Vaselines, Felt, Slowdive, the Field Mice, Everything But the Girl, Inspiral Carpets, the La's, Prefab Sprout, Mighty Mighty, Sea Urchins, the Darling Buds, the Soup Dragons, Lloyd Cole, the Wonder Stuff and many more.

The label explains the collection this like: "From the post-punk scene and Postcard Records through the explosion of bands celebrated by the NME on their famous C86 cassette through to perhaps the ultimate distillation of the scene, Sarah Records, Scared to Get Happy celebrates a golden era."

The set is apparently inspired by the garage rock compilation Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era 1965–1968. Peruse the list of songs in consideration below.

Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie-Pop 1980-1989:

14 Iced Bears - "Balloon Song"
Another Sunny Day - "I'm In Love with a Girl Who Doesn't Know..."
Apple Boutique - "Love Resistance"
Bachelor Pad - "The Albums Of Jack"
Biff Bang Pow! - "The Chocolate Elephant Man"
Black - "Human Features"
Blow Up - "Forever Holiday"
Blue Orchids - "Work"
Bluebells - TBA
BMX Bandits - "Sad"
Bodines - "God Bless"
Boy Hairdressers - "Tidalwave"
Bradford - "Skin Storm"
Brilliant Corners - "Delilah Sands"
Bubblegum Splash - "One of Those Things"
Charlottes - "Are You Happy Now?"
Cherry Boys - "Kardomah Café"
Chesterfields - "Completely and Utterly"
Claim - "Picking Up the Bitter Little Pieces"
Close Lobsters - "What Is There to Smile About (demo)"
Clouds - "Tranquil"
Corn Dollies - "Be Small Again (or Forever Steven)"
Cud - "Only (A Prawn in Whitby)"
Daintees - "Roll on Summertime"
Darling Buds - "Shame On You"
Dentists - "She Dazzled Me With Basil"
Desert Wolves - "Speak to Me Rochelle"
Dolly Mixture - "Everything and More"
East Village - "Strawberry Window"
Everything But The Girl - "Feeling Dizzy"
Fanatics - "Suburban Love Songs"
Fantastic Something - "If She Doesn't Smile It'll Rain"
Farmers Boys - "I Think I Need Help"
Felt - TBA
Field Mice - "Emma's House"
Fire Engines - "Candy Skin"
Flatmates - "Shimmer"
Friends Again - "Honey at the Core"
Girls at Our Best - "Getting Nowhere Fast"
Gol Gappas - "Albert Parker"
Golden Dawn - "My Secret World"
Grab Grab The Haddock - "I'm Used Now"
Groove Farm - "Surfin' into Your Heart"
Groovy Little Numbers - "You Make My Head Explode"
Hangman's Beautiful Daughters - "Love Is Blue"
Heart Throbs - "Toy"
Hepburns - "The World Is"
House of Love - "The Hill"
Hurrah - "The Sun Shines Here"
Inspiral Carpets - "Keep the Circle Around"
Jamie Wednesday - "Vote for Love"
Jane - "It's a Fine Day"
Jasmine Minks - "Where the Traffic Goes"
Jazz Butcher - "Southern Mark Smith"
Josef K - "The Missionary"
June Brides - "Just the Same"
King Of Luxembourg - "A Picture of Dorian Gray"
Korova Milk - "Bar Do It Again"
La's - "Son of a Gun (demo)"
Laugh - "Take Your Time Yeah!"
Lines - "Nerve Pylon"
Lloyd Cole & The Commotions - "Are You Ready to Be Heartbroken (indie vsn)"
Loft - "Up the Hill and Down the Slope"
Marine Girls - "Don't Come Back"
McCarthy - "Red Sleeping Beauty"
McTells - "Jesse Man Rae"
Microdisney - "Dolly"
Mighty Lemon Drops - "Something Happens"
Mighty Mighty - "Is There Anyone Out There?"
Milltown Brothers - "Roses"
Monochrome Set - "Jet Set Junta"
Nightingales - "Brain or the Crunch"
Orchids - "I've Got a Habit"
Pastels - "I Wonder Why"
Pooh Sticks - "Indiepop Ain't Noise Pollution"
Pop Will Eat Itself - "Sweet Sweet Pie"
Popguns - "Landslide"
Poppyheads - "Pictures You Weave"
Prefab Sprout - "Lions In My Own Garden (Exit Someone)"
Pulp - "Everybody's Problem"
Raw Herbs - "She's a Nurse"
Razorcuts - "Big Pink Cake"
Revolving Paint Dream - "In the Afternoon"
Rodney Allen - "Circle Line"
Rosehips - "Room In Your Heart"
Rosemary's Children - "(Whatever Happened To) Alice?"
Rote Kapelle - "Sunday"
Sea Urchins - "Solace"
Servants - "Transparent"
Shop Assistants - "All Day Long"
Siddeleys - "My Favourite Wet Wednesday Afternoon"
Slowdive - "Beach Song"
Soup Dragons - "Not for Humbert"
Strawberry Switchblade - "Trees and Flowers"
Sun & The Moon - "Adam's Song"
Talulah Gosh - "Beatnik Boy"
Telescopes - "Perfect Needle"
This Poison - "Engine Failure"
Trixie's Big Red Motorbike - "Norman and Narcissus"
Vaselines - "Jesus Don't Want Me for a Sunbeam"
Waltones - "She Looks Right Through Me"
Weather Prophets - "Almost Prayed"
Weekend - "Summerdays"
Whirl - "Heaven Forbid"
Wolfhounds - "Cut the Cake"
Wonder Stuff - "It's a Wonderful Day"
Yeah Jazz - "Sharon"
Yeah Yeah Noh - "Temple of Convenience"