Canadian Folk Music Awards Reveal 2016 Nominees

Canadian Folk Music Awards Reveal 2016 Nominees
The nominees for this year's Canadian Folk Music Awards were announced today (September 21), with artists like Royal Wood, Old Man Luedecke, White Horse and more potentially taking home a statue this December.

The full list of nominees were revealed today at Toronto City Hall during the National Strum event, which featured a performance from James Keelaghan. All told 19 categories of nominees were announced, with 72 artists and groups from across the country receiving noms.

PEI's Ten Strings and a Goat Skin garnered the most nominations, racking up four salutes for their Auprès du Poêle collection.

Some of the other artists that garnered multiple nominations include the Strumbellas, Whitehorse, Donovan Woods, Royal Wood and Danny Michel. Other nominees include Jim Bryson, Matthew and Jill Barber, and Megan Bonnell, among others.

The CFMA Awards Gala is being held December 3 at Toronto's Isabel Bader Theatre and will be hosted by Newfoundland's Jean Hewson and La Bottine Souriante's Benoit Bourque. Tickets are $45, plus service charges, and can be picked up over here.

UPDATE (10/27, 3:40 p.m. EDT): The gala performers have now been announced, and they include Bruce Cockburn, Colin Linden, the Ennis Sisters, Sultans of String, Red Moon Road and Klô Pelgag.

You'll find all of the nomination details down below.

Canadian Folk Music Awards 2016 Nominees:

Young Performer of the Year:

Jake VanceEden
Jessica Wedden Fiddling is My Passion
Chanelle AlbertHow Beautiful We Are
Nick Earle and Joe CoffinLive at the Citadel House
Keltie Monaghan Someone Tell Her

New/Emerging Artist of the Year:

Ben Caplan Birds With Broken Wings
HillsburnIn the Battle Years
Evening HymnsQuiet Energies
Old Whiskey Road Under The Neon Lights
The Small GloriesWondrous Traveler

The Oliver Schroer Pushing The Boundaries Award:

Ten Strings And A Goat Skin Auprès du Poêle
OzereFinding Anyplace
Kaia Kater Nine Pin
Jim Bryson Somewhere We Will Find Our Place
WhitehorseThe Northern South Vol. 1

English Songwriter(s) of the Year

Royal Wood Ghost Light
Donovan Woods Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled
The StrumbellasHope
Danny MichelMatadora
The Small Glories (Songwriters: Cara Luft, JD Edwards) - Wondrous Traveler

French Songwriter(s) of the Year:

Les soeurs Boulay4488 de l'Amour
Richard SéguinLes horizons nouveaux
Safia NolinLimoilou
Philippe Brach Portraits de famine
Sept jours en mai - Songwriters: Mara Tremblay, Michel Rivard, Luc De Larochellière, Éric Goulet, Gilles Bélanger, MountainDaisies (Ariane Ouellet, Carl Prévost)Sept jours en mai

Aboriginal Songwriter(s) of the Year:

Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick - Dream Big, Little One * Fais de beaux rêves, petit ange
William Prince - Earthly Days
Digawolf - Great Northern Man 
Amanda Rheaume - Holding Patterns
Twin Flames Jaaji and Chelsey June

World Group of the Year:

Tio ChorinhoChora Brazil
NomadicaDance of the Infidels
Lenka Lichtenberg & FrayLive in America
Beppe Gambetta & Tony McManusRound Trip
Sultans of StringSubcontinental Drift

World Solo Artist of the Year:  

Jocelyn Pettit Caravan
KattamDe Tombouctou à Bombay
Élage Diouf Melokáane
Karim Saada Mon frère
Willy RiosPara ti

Traditional Album of the Year:

Auprès du Poêle by Ten Strings And A Goat Skin
Coffee Creek by The Slocan Ramblers
Princes et Habitants by Yann Falquet & Pascal Gemme
Terre Rouge by Vishtèn
Un Canadien Errant by Fásta

Traditional Singer of the Year:

Rowen Gallant from Ten Strings And A Goat Skin Auprès du Poêle
Chaim TannenbaumChaim Tannenbaum
Shannon QuinnIf All The Young Ladies
Yves Lambert from the Yves Lambert Trio Laissez courir les chiens
Sophie Lavoie from FástaUn Canadien Errant

Contemporary Album of the Year:

Empty Train by David Francey
Hobo Jungle Fever Dreams by Corin Raymond
Hope by The Strumbellas
Just Keep Moving by Big Little Lions
Hard Settle, Ain't Troubled by Donovan Woods

Contemporary Singer of the Year:

William PrinceEarthly Days
Matt Andersen Honest Man 
Jadea KellyLove & Lust
Megan Bonnell Magnolia
Danny MichelMatadora
Instrumental Group of the Year:

The Andrew Collins TrioAnd It Was Good
Tio ChorinhoChora Brazil
Beppe Gambetta & Tony McManus Round Trip
The East PointersSecret Victory 

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year:

Don AlderArmed & Dangerous
Duane AndrewsConception Bay
Daniel KoulackFrailing To Succeed
Arnie NaimanMy Lucky Stars
Lotus WightOde to the Banjo
Vocal Group of the Year:

Rosie & the Riveters Good Clean Fun!
Hillsburn - In the Battle Years
Musique à bouchesJusqu'aux oreilles
Big Little LionsJust Keep Moving
Sweet Alibi Walking In The Dark