Califone Announce 'Stitches' Album

Califone Announce 'Stitches' Album
Beloved indie experimenters Califone just wrapped up their living room tour earlier this week. Now, they've announced a new album.

The record is called Stitches, and marks their first new release since 2009's All My Friends Are Funeral Singers.

In a press release, frontman and former Red Red Meat member Tim Rutili said, "We treated each song as its own particular planet. Bringing in different people and recording in different places helped bring some tension to the whole thing. I wanted this to be a more schizophrenic record, stitching together conflicting textures and feels."

He also describes the songwriting as much more personal than previous endeavours, saying, "It was a much more solitary process, and that freed me up to feel less self-conscious about singing and writing more personal lyrics. I tried to keep the songs visual and poetic, but it was more important to allow myself to feel and be vulnerable and not hide in the music. Instead of writing from my balls and brain, this time I wrote from the nerves, skin, and heart."

Dead Oceans will issue Stitches on September 3. You can check out the tracklisting and title track below.

The band also have some proper American tour dates booked. You can check out the itinerary here.


1. Movie Music Kills a Kiss
2. Stitches
3. Frosted Tips
4. Magdalene
5. Bells Break Arms
6. moonbath.brainsalt.a.holy.fool
7. Moses
8. A Thin Skin of Bullfight Dust
9. We are a Payphone
10. turtle eggs/an optimist