Bahamas Returns with New Album, Streams "All the Time"

Bahamas Returns with New Album, Streams "All the Time"
Bahamas is the recording alias of Ontario singer-songwriter Afie Jurvanen, and his latest album has a very self-explanatory title. Bahamas Is Afie will be out on August 19 through Brushfire/Universal and a day earlier overseas.

The self-produced album is the follow-up to 2012's Barchords. It features 12 tracks, the titles of which are listed below. That's also the album art above.

In a statement, here's what Jurvanen, who played most of the instruments on the record, had to say about Bahamas Is Afie:

This feels like a self-titled record to me. The songs seem to have a definitive quality to them, and they ended up going to all kinds of unexpected musical places. I really thought I was going to make a traditional folk record but as the recording evolved I started having some pretty different ideas. I started playing this game like, 'what would 80s Van Morrison do if he were producing this?' or 'what about John Williams?' It all came together in a simple, naive and direct way and I was really energized by the process. And I got to play a lot of guitar...I feel like I'll get another chance to make a folkie record somewhere down the road. For now, this is me.

Scroll past that to stream "All the Time," which combines soulful falsetto harmonies with acoustic arpeggios and quirkily distorted guitar growls. Although Jurvanen usually downplays his guitar heroics in the studio, the track concludes with some impressive six-string wailing.

Bahamas Is Afie:

1. Waves

2. Can't Take You with Me

3. Bitter Memories

4. All the Time

5. Stronger Than That

6. Half Mine

7. All Time Favourite

8. Like a Wind

9. Nothing to Me Now

10. Little Record Girl

11. I Had It All

12. All I've Ever Known

Tour dates:

06/10 Brooklyn, NY - Celebrate Brooklyn at Prospect Park
07/12 Charlottetown, PEI - Big Red Music Festival
07/27 Edmonton, AB - Interstellar Rodeo

Read our recent interview with Jurvanen here.