Youth Lagoon Returns with 'Heaven Is a Junkyard'

Check out the single "Idaho Alien" now

BY Alex HudsonPublished Feb 28, 2023

Youth Lagoon has returned. Trevor Powers has resurrected his former project for his first album under the name in eight years. Heaven Is a Junkyard is out on June 9 through Fat Possum, and the single "Idaho Alien" is streaming now.

In the years since Youth Lagoon's previous album, 2015's Savage Hills Ballroom, Powers ended the project and has released music under his own name. He returned to the project after he had a bad reaction to an over-the-counter medication and lost his voice for eight months.

"Heaven Is a Junkyard is about all of us," Powers said in a statement. "It's stories of brothers leaving for war, drunk fathers learning to hug, mothers falling in love, neighbours stealing mail, cowboys doing drugs, friends skipping school, me crying in the bathtub, dogs catching rabbits, and children playing in tall grass."

Watch a video for "Idaho Alien" below, directed by Tyler T. Powers. Heaven Is a Junkyard's tracklist is below that. The album is available to pre-order on vinyl from Fat Possum's store.

Heaven Is a Junkyard:

1. Rabbit

2. Idaho Alien

3. Prizefighter

4. The Sling

5. Lux Radio Theatre

6. Deep Red Sea

7. Trapeze Artist

8. Mercury

9. Little Devil from the Country

10. Helicopter Toy

Latest Coverage