Young Widows Return with 'Easy Pain,' Premiere New Single

Young Widows Return with 'Easy Pain,' Premiere New Single
Three years after issuing their In and Out of Youth and Lightness, Kentucky trio Young Widows have announced another chapter in their unfolding, twisted post-punk narrative, Easy Pain. The band's fourth full-length lands May 13 through Temporary Residence Ltd.

Once again, the band took their tunes into My Morning Jacket producer Kevin Ratterman's Funeral Home Studio, with a press release explaining that the 10-song set is the band's "densest, most disturbingly addictive record yet." Building upon the groundwork laid over the last several years of releases, the record is said to explore the tangents between "post-punk, noise rock, pseudo industrial, experimental doom, and goth" with pummelled drums, loud guitars and the unit's "trademark gut-churning bass."

Young Widows have unveiled the first single from the set, "Kerosene Girl," a hypnotic, early Queens of the Stone Age-styled rumble of drums, bent six-strings, paint-peeling fuzz bass and the moody crooning of Evan Patterson. You can hear the track for yourself down below.

Easy Pain:

1. Godman
2. Cool Night
3. Kerosene Girl
4. Doomed Moon
5. Gift of Failure
6. Bird Feeder
7. King Sol
8. The Last Young Widow

Read our interview with Patterson here.