The Young Reveal 'Chrome Cactus'

The Young Reveal 'Chrome Cactus'
Texas outfit the Young are know for their guitar-worshipping ways, and fans can expect more of that on their upcoming third album. Chrome Cactus will be out on August 26 through Matador.

This is the follow-up to 2012's Dub Egg. It was produced by Tim Green (Corin Tucker, the Fresh & Onlys, Six Organs of Admittance) at Louder Studios in Grass Valley, CA.

A press release calls this album "far darker" than Dub Egg, with both the music and lyrics exuding "creeping dread" and sonic touchstones including early ZZ Top, Dead Moon, Link Wray and Lungfish. While the band have always been known for their six-string interplay, frontman Hans Zimmerman's vocals and melodies apparently now pull equal weight.

In a statement, Zimmerman said this about making the album: "All along the thematic foundation hovered around the idea of becoming something or someone else; like snapping to reality to realize you're not only in the midst of total shit and chaos but you're in some strangers skin; looking through their eyes and maybe you catch a distorted, barbed reflection of yourself and remember someone you thought you were."

Scroll past the tracklist below to see an animated video for the raw, riff-rocking opener "Metal Flake." Also listen to a 79-minute mixtape of inspirations for the album.

Chrome Cactus is available to pre-order digitally on iTunes or on CD or vinyl through Matador's online store.

Chrome Cactus:

1. Metal Flake

2. Cry of Tin

3. Chrome Jamb

4. Moondog First Quarter

5. Apaches Throat

6. Mercy

7. Ramona Cruz

8. Dressed in Black

9. Slow Death

10. Blow the Scum Away