Western Canadian Music Awards Announce 2016 Winners

Western Canadian Music Awards Announce 2016 Winners
BreakOut West is now well underway in Regina, and that means so too are the Western Canadian Music Awards. "Celebrating the best in Western Canadian talent," the annual awards revealed a pile of winners at a gala at Casino Regina.

Among the winners announced so far are Vancouver Island studio whiz Colin Stewart (Producer of the Year), Yukon Blonde (Recording of the Year), Pharis Romero (Songwriters of the Year) and William Prince (Aboriginal Artist of the Year).

UPDATE (10/16, 1 a.m. EDT): The full list of Western Canadian Music Awards winners has now been announced. You can see the complete list of winners below.

As previously reported, other artists up for awards include Aidan Knight, Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick, Brett Kissel, Corb Lund, David Morin, George Canyon, Le Destin du Jazz-Club!, Library Voices, We Are the City and many more.

2016 Western Canadian Music Award Winners:

Aboriginal Artist of the Year
William Prince

Blues Artist of the Year
Romi Mayes

BreakOut Artist of the Year
The Bros. Landreth

Children's Artist of the Year
Nadia Gaudet & Jason Burnstick

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year

Classical Composition of the Year
Along the King's Road - Jason Cullimore

Country Artist of the Year
Brett Kissel

Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year
Delhi 2 Dublin

Francophone Artist of the Year
Jocelyne Baribeau

Instrumental Artist of the Year
Pugs and Crows

Jazz Artist of the Year
Curtis Nowosad Quintet

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year

Pop Artist of the Year
Lexi Strate

Producer of the Year
Colin Stewart

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year

Recording of the Year
Yukon Blonde

Rock Artist of the Year
The Wet Secrets

Roots Duo/Group of the Year
Northern Beauties

Roots Solo Artist of the Year
Frazey Ford

Songwriter(s) of the Year
Pharis Romero - A Wanderer I'll Stay "Pharis & Jason Romero - A Wanderer I'll Stay"

Spiritual Artist of the Year
Yvonne St. Germaine

Urban Artist of the Year
David Morin

Video Director of the Year
Ft. Langley (for Aidan Knight "All Clear")

Visual Media Composer of the Year
Alec Harrison

World Artist of the Year
Tasman Jude

2016 Western Canadian Music Industry Award Winners:

Audio Engineering Award
Nygel Asselin

Community Excellence Award
West End Cultural Centre

Excellence in Visual Design
Roberta Hansen

Impact in Artist Development
Paquin Artists Agency

Impact in Live Music
Rawk Entertainment Group Inc.

Impact in Music Marketing
Live Nation Canada

2016 Heritage Award
John Arcand

2016 Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award
Derek Bachman (posthumously)