Wes Anderson's 'Grand Budapest Hotel' Soundtrack Revealed

Wes Anderson's 'Grand Budapest Hotel' Soundtrack Revealed
Anticipation is building for quirky, colour-palette-obsessed filmmaker Wes Anderson's latest movie, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and news has now arrived behind the film's score. A classically minded soundtrack for the film lands March 4 via ABKCO, just a couple days ahead of the movie's March 7 opening.

Just as Anderson has brought out his recurring cast of actors (Bill Murray, Jason Schwartzman, Tilda Swinton, Owen Wilson) to the film — concerning, among other thing, the relationship between a concierge and a lobby boy at the titular hotel — the celebrated filmmaker has reunited with composer Alexandre Desplat, who had previously contributed new music to 2009's Fantastic Mr. Fox and 2012's Moonrise Kingdom.

In addition to the original pieces offered up by Desplat, the soundtrack also presents traditional Russian folk music, as performed by the Osipov State Russian Folk Orchestra, Öse Schuppel and a Vivaldi piece.

A press release explains that the music serves to "set the scene for a chase through the snowy tundra in this gripping tale of intrigue."

You'll find all of the tracklisting details down below, where you'll also find a trailer for The Grand Budapest Hotel.

The Grand Budapest Hotel:

1. Öse Schuppel - "s'Rothe-Zäuerli"

2. Alexandre Desplat - "The Alpine Sudetenwaltz"

3. Alexandre Desplat - "Mr. Moustafa"

4. Alexandre Desplat - "Overture: M. Gustave H"

5. Alexandre Desplat - "A Prayer for Madame D"

6. Alexandre Desplat - "The New Lobby Boy"

7. Siegfried Behrend & DZO Chamber Orchestra - "Concerto for Lute and Plucked Strings I. Moderato"

8. Alexandre Desplat - "Daylight Express to Lutz"

9. Alexandre Desplat - "Schloss Lutz Overture"

10. Alexandre Desplat - "The Family Desgoffe und Taxis"

11. Alexandre Desplat - "Last Will and Testament"

12. Alexandre Desplat - "Up the Stairs/Down the Hall"

13. Alexandre Desplat - "Night Train to Nebelsbad"

14. Alexandre Desplat - "The Lutz Police Militia"

15. Alexandre Desplat - "Check Point 19 Criminal Internment Camp Overture"

16. Osipov State Russian Folk Orchestra, Vitaly Gnutov - "The Linden Tree"

17. Alexandre Desplat - "J.G. Jopling, Private Inquiry Agent"

18. Alexandre Desplat - "A Dash of Salt (Ludwig's Theme)"

19. Alexandre Desplat - "The Cold-Blooded Murder of Deputy Vilmos Kovacs"

20. Alexandre Desplat - "Escape Concerto"

21. Alexandre Desplat - "The War (Zero's Theme)"

22. Alexandre Desplat - "No Safe-House"

23. Alexandre Desplat - "The Society of the Crossed Keys"

24. Alexandre Desplat - "M. Ivan"

25. Alexandre Desplat - "Lot 117"

26. Alexandre Desplat - "Third Class Carriage"

27. Alexandre Desplat - "Canto at Gabelmeister's Peak"

28. Alexandre Desplat - "A Troops Barracks (Requiem for the Grand Budapest)"

29. Alexandre Desplat - "Cleared of All Charges"

30. Alexandre Desplat - "The Mystical Union"

31. Osipov State Russian Folk Orchestra, Vitaly Gnutov - "Kamarinskaya"

32. Alexandre Desplat - "Traditional Arrangement: Moonshine"