The Verlaines Experience 'Untimely Meditations' on New LP

The Verlaines Experience 'Untimely Meditations' on New LP
Kiwi pop fans rejoice, as the Verlaines have revealed details for yet another new album. This release, which marks their ninth full-length over all, is called Untimely Meditations and follows 2009's Corporate Moronic.

Untimely Meditations will be released by legendary imprint Flying Nun on April 17 on a CD, but you don't even have to wait that long, because the digital version is already available now.

Of course, we haven't heard the record yet so we'll let the press release speak for itself:

Lyrically and musically inventive, Untimely Meditations is expansive both in sound and style as [Graeme] Downes orchestrates and deftly crafts post-punk, classically influenced compositions, satire and a touch of cabaret. Combining subtle humour and Downes's drawl, these ten meditations are stories that explore the personal, political and social.

The album was recorded over 18 months at Albany Street Studios in Dunedin, and features the core live Verlaines band of Tom Healy, Darren Steadman, Stephen Small and Rob Burns, along with "an assortment of guest musicians."

The tracklisting for Untimely Meditations is available below and the cover is above.

Untimely Meditations:

1. Born Again Idiot
2. Dark Riff
3. Diamonds And Paracetamol
4. Beauty Is Truth
5. Pets
6. James, Jimmy, Nuisance, Hemi
7. On The Patches
8. A Call From Decades Past
9. Last Will And Testament
10. What Sound Is This?