Various Plugged In - Mixed by Andrew Clyne

This is a compilation of house, trance and techno tracks mixed by American DJ Andrew Clyne, who is a familiar in the club scene across the States and has also toured Canada and Europe. Many of the tracks are previously unreleased and come from the independent dance music label Phatt Phunk's own roster of artists. Featured cuts include a track written and produced by Andrew Clyne, Moogwai's trauma mix of "I Get A Rush," by the Fisher Project, Christian Smith and Trevor Rockcliffe's "Definition of Love" and "Seed Sound," by Seed, currently gracing the decks of John Digweed. This is top notch, a brilliant mixture of dark trance, deep techno and hard house. Starting off subtle then segueing into a harder pounding keeps you moving through tunnels down and down to "I Get a Rush" and "Seed Sound," groping around in the dark before beginning the ascent with the Organic Vegetarian Liberation Front's "To Summer With Love." It's true that it's not where you're going but it's the journey that counts with this excellently produced set. (Phatt Phunk)