Vancouver's Reef Shark Enjoy 'Better Weather' on Debut Album

Vancouver's Reef Shark Enjoy 'Better Weather' on Debut Album
Singer-guitarist Devin Miller and drummer Garth Covernton have been a part of Vancouver's indie rock scene for a few years now, the former as a member of Young Pacific and the latter with 41st and Home. Now, they're making music together as Reef Shark, and their debut album is ready to go. Better Weather will be out on June 18.

The band self-produced the 12-song set along with Covernton's 41st and Home bandmate George Knuff. The results were mixed by Jesse Gander (Japandroids, White Lung).

Miller handled all of vocals, guitars, bass and keys, while Covernton played percussion and samples. For a taste of what they cooked up, watch a lyric video for "Frozen Beaches" at the bottom of this page. It's a catchy pop-rock tune with a hint of overdriven grit and spaced out, psychedelic instrumental break. Also see a video for the crunchily bright "Hedonysmal."

The album cover is above and the tracklist is below. The album will initially be available digitally and on cassette, although the group hope that a vinyl release may eventually follow.

Better Weather:

1. Enter the Reef Shark
2. Dory
3. Frozen Beaches
4. Wayfinding
5. Hedonysmal
6. Feeding Frenzy
7. Lazer Blues
8. Better Weather
9. Those Days
10. Cruisin'
11. Pareidolia
12. G.O.L.D.W.A.V.E.S