Vancouver's Kamikaze Nurse Sign to Mint Records for 'Stimuloso,' Share "Boom Josie"

The album was mixed by Deerhoof's Greg Saunier

BY Alex HudsonPublished Mar 23, 2022

Vancouver art-rock combo Kamikaze Nurse have become the latest band to sign with the city's Mint Records, and they've shared the first single from their forthcoming album. The video for "Boom Josie" is out now, with the full-length Stimuloso to follow on June 3.

Kamikaze Nurse formed in 2018, and released the album Bucky Fleur that same year. They self-recorded the instruments on Stimuloso while socially distancing in 2020, with vocal sessions later taking place at Rain City Recorders. The results were mixed by Deerhoof's Greg Saunier.

Get a taste of Stimuloso via the opening track "Boom Josie," which was named after guitarist Ethan Reyes' baby. The video for the swirling, fidgety track was directed by Jason Lei at Vancouver Island's Botanical Beach, and it's a psychedelic sensory overload of summery vibes.

Check it out below. Stimuloso is available to pre-save here.


A1. Boom Josie
A2. P & O
A3. Stimuloso
A4. Aileen
A5. Dead Ringers
B6. Never Better
B7. Pet Meds
B8. Come From Wood
B9. Work + Days
B10. ubobo

Latest Coverage