Aaron Gillespie Reworks Underoath Songs for New Solo Album

Aaron Gillespie Reworks Underoath Songs for New Solo Album
After hopping back behind the drum kit last year for the Underoath reunion, Aaron Gillespie has announced he's reworked some of the screamo outfit's old songs for an upcoming solo album. Titled Out of the Badlands, his next full-length on his own will be set free on August 19.

Gillespie revealed the details of the 10-song release today (June 22), explaining that the collection offers up "a new take on songs from throughout my career and the songs that have inspired me along the way."

Initially, it had looked as if the project would also be going by the name of Out of the Badlands, though he's now opted to use the phrase for the album title while crediting himself by his given name. It's the second album to do so, following his faith-based 2011 solo debut, Anthem Song.

The collection includes revamps of Underoath's "A Boy Brushed Red Living in Black and White" and "Reinventing Your Exit," both of which are songs from the act's 2004 breathrough They're Only Chasing Safety. He's also dipped into his catalogue with the Almost by revisiting that emo-styled combo's "Southern Weather" and "Say This Sooner."

As for the songs that "inspired" him, the record also features a cover of U2's classic Joshua Tree anthem "Where the Streets Have No Name." He also delivers originals like the rootsy, previously premiered "Raspberry Layer Cake." You can check out that track down below.

Pre-orders for Out of the Badlands are on sale now, with the full-length arriving on cream-coloured vinyl and on CD. You can also get the record in a bundle package along with a mug, a bag of King State coffee beans and a "Hand Made Custom Winding Wheel Wallet." You can find out more info over here.

As for Underoath, the band are booked to play Montebellos, QC's Amnesia Rockfest this week.

Out of the Badlands:

1. A Boy Brushed Red Living In Black And White
2. Can't Make You Love Me
3. No I Don't
4. Raspberry Layer Cake
5. Reinventing Your Exit
6. Say This Sooner
7. Southern Weather
8. Where The Streets Have No Name
9. The Fox
10. You Don't Love Me Anymore