Tracey Thorn Explores "Real Life After 40" on New Solo Album, Taps Jens Lekman and Hot Chip's Al Doyle to Guest

Tracey Thorn Explores 'Real Life After 40' on New Solo Album, Taps Jens Lekman and Hot Chip's Al Doyle to Guest
Former Everything But the Girl singer Tracey Thorn spent most of the last decade on an extended hiatus while she and one-time band-mate Ben Watt raised a family. Luckily for fans, the wait for her next album promises to be much shorter than it was for her solo comeback, 2007's Out of the Woods.

Thorn's new album is called Love and Its Opposite, and it's due out on May 18. In the UK, it will come out on her husband's own Strange Feeling label, while in North America it will be released via Merge.

The ten-song collection was recorded in Berlin and London, and was co-produced by Thorn and electronic producer Ewan Pearson (the Rapture, Gwen Stefani, Ladytron). Thorn duets with Swedish indie pop crooner Jens Lekman on a cover of Lee Hazlewood's "Come on Home to Me," and the album also features guest appearances from Hot Chip's Al Doyle, the Invisible's Leo Taylor, Nashville experimentalist Cortney Tidwell and Lost Valentinos's Jono Ma.

With such a diverse range of contributors, what to expect from the album is anyone's guess. According to a press release, Thorn says that the disc is "a record about the person I am now and the people around me," and that it describes "real life after 40." This much is clear from the first single, "Oh the Divorces!", a piano-and-strings ballad in which Thorn laments that all of the couples she knows are separated.

Head over to Merge's website to download the track for free.

Love and Its Opposite:

1. "Oh, the Divorces!"
2. "Long White Dress"
3. "Hormones"
4. "Kentish Town"
5. "Why Does the Wind?"
6. "You Are a Lover" (The Unbending Trees cover)
7. "Singles Bar"
8. "Come on Home to Me" (Lee Hazlewood cover)
9. "Late in the Afternoon"
10. "Swimming"