Tomahawk Return with First New Album in Eight Years

'Tonic Immobility' is the fifth studio record by Mike Patton and co.
Tomahawk Return with First New Album in Eight Years
Tomahawk have returned with details of their first new album in eight years. The 12-track Tonic Immobility arrives March 26 through Ipecac Recordings.

Tonic Immobility marks the group's first full-length since 2013's Oddfellows, while new song "Business Casual" stands as their first new material since 2014 single "M.E.A.T." 

Tomahawk features Mike Patton (Faith No More/Mr. Bungle), Duane Denison (Jesus Lizard/Unsemble), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle/Fantômas) and John Stanier (Helmet/Battles). Denison describes "Business Casual," which can be heard below, as "a mocking look at the life of work in America."

"Tonic Immobility could just be something in the air we're feeling," Denison said of the album in a statement. "It's been a rough year between the pandemic and everything else. A lot of people feel somewhat powerless and stuck as they're not able to make a move without second guessing themselves or worrying about the outcomes.

"For as much as the record possibly reflects that, it's also an escape from the realities of the world. We're not wallowing in negativity or getting political. For me, rock has always been an alternate reality to everything else. I feel like this is yet another example."

Find out where Tomahawk sit in our Essential Guide to the World of Mike Patton.

Tonic Immobility:

1. SHHH!
2. Valentine Shine
3. Predators and Scavengers
4. Doomsday Fatigue
5. Business Casual
6. Tattoo Zero
7. Fatback
8. Howlie
9. Eureka
11. Sidewinder
11. Recoil
12. Dog Eat Dog

Pre-order Tonic Immobility.