Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers Return to Early Sound with 'Hypnotic Eye'

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers Return to Early Sound with 'Hypnotic Eye'
Heartland rock is cool again thanks to artists like Kurt Vile and the War on Drugs, and right on cue, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers are back with a new album. Hypnotic Eye is due out this summer through Reprise Records.

The band have been working on the album since August 2011, with Petty co-producing alongside returning collaborator Ryan Ulyate and Heartbreakers guitarist Mike Campbell. Sessions took place at Petty's home studio in Malibu and at the band's Los Angeles rehearsal space, the Clubhouse.

"I knew I wanted to do a rock'n'roll record," Petty told Rolling Stone. "We hadn't made a straight hard-rockin' record, from beginning to end, in a long time."

All told, the record has 11 songs, with a style reportedly harking back to 1976's Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers and 1978's You're Gonna Get It!

Song titles include "American Dream Plan B," "Faultlines," "Red River," Burn Out Town" and "Shadow People." These are apparently a big change from Petty's last record, 2010's bluesy Mojo.

This isn't the only Petty release on the horizon. He's also planning a two-disc reissue of 1994's Wildflowers, which is packaged with 10 previously unreleased songs and could be out this year. He also has a live album in the works, featuring recordings from the Heartbreakers' 2013 residencies in New York and Los Angeles.

Stay tuned for exact release dates to be confirmed.