Timber Timbre Spinoff Last Ex to Release Album Based on Scrapped Horror Movie Score

BY Alex HudsonPublished Aug 20, 2014

Timber Timbre have talked with us about their scrapped score for the 2013 horror flick The Last Exorcism Part II, and soon we will get a taste of what it would have sounded like thanks to band members Simon Trottier and Olivier Fairfield. They have recorded an album with their own instrumental duo, Last Ex, featuring some similar sounds to the score. Their self-titled album will be out on October 14 through Constellation.

While the original soundtrack music was ambient and centred on guitar and strings, Last Ex expanded the sound with drums, bass and more. They wrote additional songs and, according to a press release, incorporated "their obsessions with sound collage, tape-based music concrète and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop."

Timber Timbre mastermind Taylor Kirk plays drums, in addition to guitar, on a few cuts. Another member of the group's circle, Mika Posen, contributes strings.

Last Ex's moniker is derived from the name of the film, The Last Exorcism Part II. For a taste of their music, scroll past the tracklist below to hear a sampler from Constellation; it also features Ought and Avec le soleil sortant de sa bouche, but begins with Last Ex's "Hotel Blues."

The album can be pre-ordered digitally or on CD or vinyl right here.

Last Ex:

1. Hotel Blues
2. Girl Seizure
3. Flûte magique
4. It's Not Chris
5. Resurrection Drive Part I
6. Nell's Theme
7. Trop tard
8. Cape Fear
9. Cité d'or
10. Hotel Blues Returns
11. Hotel Kiss

Latest Coverage