Thundercat Gets Michael McDonald, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell 'Drunk' on New LP

Thundercat Gets Michael McDonald, Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell 'Drunk' on New LP
After having visions of an Apocalypse and venturing through The Beyond/Where the Giants Roam, bass wizard Thundercat has adopted a simpler state of mind for his next record. Titled Drunk, the album will arrive at the end of next month through Brainfeeder.

Twenty-three tracks in length, Drunk is described by the bassist as an album meant to be both humorous and serious, as he described to RBMA Daily:

I've always tried to hold true to what Erykah Badu and Flying Lotus told me: It has to come from an honest place. I feel like it's a place that I've been in different ways, seen different angles of and it's been a bit inspirational — the drinking...It has its ups and downs and everything, but I felt like it showed the human side of what goes on behind things, something that I see with all of my friends… I felt like it was kind of interweaved in the music culture. And it's something that's never talked about.

The record also has an impressive guestlist, featuring contributions from Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell, Michael McDonald, Kenny Loggins, Wiz Khalifa, Kamasi Washington and Flying Lotus. Loggins and McDonald join Thundercat on the record's first single "Show You the Way," a lounging bit of funk with some humourous guest intros that you can hear in the player below.

Thundercat had this to say about the track:

That song to me is about going down the rabbit hole, taking you to another place… On the edge of dark, there's the brightest light. It means a lot to me in the sense of... the experience that I've had growing up with friends and people that I've been around where it's inviting them into where I come from emotionally. Sometimes it's a pretty intense thing. The point is how weird things can get. I feel like it's very funny that, in a way, of course Michael McDonald and Kenny would be there.

Drunk officially arrives February 24 through Brainfeeder digitally and on CD, while a vinyl edition will follow on March 10. All formats are available for pre-order through the label now.

The previously released "Bus in These Streets" also appears in the tracklisting. Of course, Thundercat will also take the record on a world tour, complete with Canadian dates that you can find here. The announcement comes a day after his brother, drummer Ronald Bruner Jr., announced a solo record of his own.

Read through the tracklisting below to hear "Show You the Way" in the Spotify player below.


1. Rabbot Ho
2. Captain Stupido
3. Uh Uh
4. Bus In These Streets
5. A Fan's Mail (Tron Song Suite II)
6. Lava Lamp
7. Jethro
8. Day & Night
9. Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
10. Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
11. Blackkk
12. Tokyo
13. Jameel's Space Ride
14. Friend Zone
15. Them Changes
16. Where I'm Going
17. Drink Dat (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
18. Inferno
19. I Am Crazy
20. 3AM
21. Drunk
22. The Turn Down (feat. Pharrell)
23. DUI