Thom Yorke Releases 'Tomorrow's Modern Boxes' Album via BitTorrent

Thom Yorke Releases 'Tomorrow's Modern Boxes' Album via BitTorrent
Earlier this week, Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke hinted that some new material was on the way via some enigmatic tweets. Today, he's unveiled exactly what he's up to: a new solo album.

The release is called Tomorrow's Modern Boxes, but despite one of the previous hints being a spinning white record, it'll actually be distributed via BitTorrent.

UPDATE: And just like that, the album is now available here on BitTorrent, or you can grab it down below in the widget. You can buy the whole eight-track Tomorrow's Modern Boxes for $6 from BitTorrent, or you can shell out £30 for the deluxe vinyl edition. As a bonus, you can also watch a new album track "Brain in a Bottle" in the widget as well. And, yes, it has some very Thom Yorke dancing.

In a letter co-written with Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Yorke explained that the album will be distributed via a pay service through BitTorrent. Read the full statement below.

As an experiment we are using a new version of BitTorrent to distribute a new Thom Yorke record. The new Torrent files have a pay gate to access a bundle of files.

The files can be anything, but in this case is an 'album'.

It's an experiment to see if the mechanics of the system are something that the general public can get its head around ...

If it works well it could be an effective way of handing some control of internet commerce back to people who are creating the work.

Enabling those people who make either music, video or any other kind of digital content to sell it themselves.

Bypassing the self elected gate-keepers. 

If it works anyone can do this exactly as we have done.

The torrent mechanism does not require any server uploading or hosting costs or 'cloud' malarkey.

It's a self-contained embeddable shop front...

The network not only carries the traffic, it also hosts the file. The file is in the network.

Oh yes and it's called
Tomorrow's Modern Boxes.

Thom Yorke & Nigel Godrich

Tomorrow's Modern Boxes:

1. A Brain in a Bottle

2. Guess Again!

3. Interference

4. The Mother Lode

5. Truth Ray

6. There Is No Ice (For My Drink)

7. Pink Section

8. Nose Grows Some