Thee Oh Sees Come Back at Us with Castlemania

Thee Oh Sees Come Back at Us with <i>Castlemania</i>
Wildly prolific San Francisco garage pop crew Thee Oh Sees already have a deep back catalogue but are showing no signs of idleness, as they've just announced a follow-up to their 2010 winner Warm Slime. The new album is called Castlemania and is due for release this spring.

Fans expecting more of the blown-out heavy fuzz of recent Oh Sees records should take note, however, as a press release calls it "a more low-key approach," adding that "on many of the tracks, electric guitars are jettisoned for acoustic, and the normally echo-laden vocals are a bit clearer. Happy pop melodies, sweet and sombre tunes, psychedelic moves galore, cover versions of the Creation and the West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band, and at least one garage stomper all rub elbows on Thee Oh Sees' 'sunshine pop' album."

We can only hope this all means the band are going to be giving us another Thee Hounds of Foggy Notion, a personal Oh Sees favourite by many of us here at Exclaim!

Castlemania will be released on May 17 via In the Red. The album will be available on double vinyl or CD.


1. "I Need Seed"
2. "Corprophagist (A Bath Perhaps)"
3. "Stinking Cloud"
4. "Corrupted Coffin"
5. "Pleasure Blimps"
6. "A Wall, A Century 2"
7. "Spider Cider"
8. "The Whipping Continues"
9. "Blood On The Deck"
10. "Castlemania"
11. "AA Warm Breeze"
12. "Idea For Rubber Dog"
13. "The Horse Was Lost"
14. "I Won't Hurt You"
15. "If I Stay Too Long"
16. "What Are We Craving?"