The Tragically Hip Mark 30 Years of 'Road Apples' with Deluxe Anniversary Reissues

The band have unearthed even more demos, outtakes and alternate versions from the vault
The Tragically Hip Mark 30 Years of 'Road Apples' with Deluxe Anniversary Reissues
The Tragically Hip have already celebrated their sophomore album Road Apples with rarities collection Saskadelphia and apple cider, and the 30th anniversary festivities continue this year with an expanded deluxe reissue.

The Hip will deliver 30th anniversary deluxe packages of Road Apples in vinyl, CD and Blu-ray audio editions on November 12 via Universal Music Canada.

In addition to Road Apples and Saskadelphia — the former of which arrives newly remastered by Ted Jensen at Nashville's Sterling Sound — the new anniversary reissues pack in Hoof-Hearted, an album of previously unreleased demos, outtakes, and alternate versions of Road Apples favourites.

Also included is Live At The Roxy Los Angeles, May 3rd 1991, a sought-after (and often bootlegged) concert originally recorded for a Westwood One radio show that has also been remastered for its exclusive inclusion in the physical reissues. Real Hip heads know that this show recording features the rare "Killer Whale Tank" version of "New Orleans Is Sinking," named for its mid-song storytelling by late frontman Gord Downie.

The deluxe physical editions also include a 36-page booklet with essays, reproductions of original handwritten lyrics from Downie's personal notebooks, never-before-seen photos from recording sessions, and a tribute to late producer Don Smith.

The Road Apples 30th anniversary packages are now available for pre-order, and you can find a tracklist and side splits for the deluxe vinyl edition below.

The remastered Road Apples will also arrive on standalone 180-gram red vinyl, while the deluxe edition audio (save the Roxy Los Angeles concert recording) will also arrive on digital service providers November 5.

Earlier this year, the Tragically Hip performed with Feist at the Juno Awards. More recently, they landed on Exclaim!'s list of the 27 Best Songs About Toronto.

Last month, Downie's debut solo album Coke Machine Glow was treated to an expanded reissue of its own.

Find out where Road Apples ranks in Exclaim!'s Essential Guide to the Tragically Hip.

Road Apples (30th Anniversary Deluxe Vinyl Box set):

Record 1 – Road Apples 2021 Remaster

Side 1
1. Little Bones                                       
2. Twist My Arm 
3. Cordelia 
4. The Luxury
5. Born In The Water
6. Long Time Running 

Side 2
1. Bring It All Back 
2. Three Pistols 
3. Fight 
4. On The Verge 
5. Fiddler's Green 
6. The Last of the Unplucked Gems 

Record 2 — Saskadelphia

Side 1
1. Ouch
2. Not Necessary
3. Montreal (Live)

Side 2
1. Crack My Spine Like A Whip
2. Just As Well
3. Reformed Baptist Blues

Record 3 — Live At The Roxy, Los Angeles May 3rd, 1991

Side 1
1. Little Bones 
2. She Didn't Know 
3. Twist My Arm 
4. Highway Girl 

Side 2
1. Cordelia 
2. Trickle Down 
3. The Luxury 
4. Three Pistols 
5. Fight 

Record 4 — Live At The Roxy, Los Angeles May 3rd, 1991

Side 3
1. I'll Believe In You (Or I'll Be Leaving You Tonight)
2. New Orleans Is Sinking 
3. On The Verge 

Side 4
1. Long Time Running 
2. Blow At High Dough 
3. All Canadian Surf Club 

Record 5 — Hoof-Hearted (demos, outtakes & alternate versions)

Side 1
1. Cordelia (Outtake)
2. Bring It All Back (February 1990 Demo)
3. Fiddler's Green (Alternate Version) 
4. Fight (Outtake)

Side 2
1. Born In The Water (Outtake)
2. Little Bones (Alternate Acoustic Version)
3. If You Lived Here (June 1990 Demo of Unreleased Song)
4. Angst On The Planks (Demo Version of "Cordelia")
5. The Last Of The Unplucked Gems (Full Length Version)