The New Pornographers Return with 'Whiteout Conditions,' Share "High Ticket Attractions"

The New Pornographers Return with 'Whiteout Conditions,' Share 'High Ticket Attractions'
Following recent rumblings of new material, Canadian collective the New Pornographers have formally announced they are hitting us up with a new album. On April 7, the band will release the very appropriately Canuck titled Whiteout Conditions via Dine Alone in Canada, and via the band's own Collected Works Records/Concord in the rest of the world.

The new LP follows up 2014's Brill Bruisers and finds A.C. Newman and the gang dishing out 11 new songs. You can see its album cover above and the tracklisting below.

As of press time, the band have said little else about the album, however. Instead, they have simply released the new teaser track "High Ticket Attractions," which you can dive into below that tracklist. You'll also find its accompanying Chris Shier-created interactive lyric video.

UPDATE (1/27, 9:00 a.m. EST): Frontman Newman has elaborated on the influences behind the new record. "At the beginning of this record, there was some thinking that we wanted it to be like a Krautrock Fifth Dimension," he said in a statement. "Of course, our mutated idea of what Krautrock is probably doesn't sound like Krautrock at all. But we were thinking: Let's try and rock in a different way." You can also watch an interactive video for "High Ticket Attractions," at the bottom of the page.

The New Pornographers have a series of U.S. dates below, though none in Canada right now. You can see all the upcoming stops here.

Whiteout Conditions:

1. Play Money
2. Whiteout Conditions
3. High Ticket Attractions
4. This is the World of the Theatre
5. Darling Shade
6. Second Sleep
7. Colosseums
8. We've Been Here Before
9. Juke
10. Clockwise
11. Avalanche Alley