The Cinematic Orchestra Return with Their First Album in 12 Years

'To Believe' features Moses Sumney, Roots Manuva and more
The Cinematic Orchestra Return with Their First Album in 12 Years
The Cinematic Orchestra have at last pulled back the curtain on their first new album in over a decade. Titled To Believe, the full-length by the veteran U.K. electronic duo will arrive on March 15 via Domino/Ninja Tune.

The album marks the group's first since 2007's Ma Fleur, meaning To Believe is their first studio effort in 12 years. The upcoming album was mixed by Tom Elmhirst at New York's Electric Lady Studios, and it includes guest contributions from Moses Sumney, Roots Manuva, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Tawiah and more.

While the Moses Sumney-equipped title track "To Believe" actually arrived back in 2016, you can now also hear the newly shared second single "A Caged Bird/Imitations of Life," which features Roots Manuva.

A press release for To Believe offered the following:

It's hard to believe it's been 12 years since the Cinematic Orchestra released their last studio album, Ma Fleur in 2007. Did you achieve what you hoped to in the time since? 12 years from now will be 2031. What will you do before then? We are powerless to answer of course, mere passengers in our own existence, improvising as events deliver themselves into our lives, struggling with the question — what to believe? Births, deaths, success, failure. Money, drugs, temptation, rejection. Trump, Brexit, fear, hope. Art, relevance, pressure, belief. It's this that accounts for the past 12 years for the Cinematic Orchestra, it's this that characterises the process of recording the new album and it's this that has been distilled into a work that is not only their best and most definitive to date but by asking these questions it's also that which best reflects the great beauty in life.

See the tracklist for To Believe below and the cover art above.

To Believe:

1. To Believe (ft. Moses Sumney)

2. A Caged Bird/Imitations of Life (ft. Roots Manuva)

3. Lessons

4. Wait for Now/Leave the World (ft. Tawiah)

5. The Workers of Art

6. Zero One/This Fantasy (ft. Grey Reverend)

7. A Promise (ft. Heidi Vogel)