Terrace Martin Gets Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Kamasi Washington for New Album 'Drones'

Leon Bridges, Ty Dolla $ign, Hit-Boy, YG and more feature
Terrace Martin Gets Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Kamasi Washington for New Album 'Drones'
Terrace Martin has detailed a new album with a star-studded tracklist that features frequent collaborator Kendrick Lamar, West Coast legend Snoop Dogg and more. The artist and producer will share Drones on November 5 via Sounds of Crenshaw/BMG.

A press release shares that 13-song Drones was partially born out of a conversation between Martin and Lamar shortly after the release of the latter's To Pimp a Butterfly, in which they "discussed a growing desensitization and a general lack of compassion amongst society."

That chat led to the creation of the album's title track, spurring Martin to enlist "friends, neighbours, and collaborators to have long conversations about the environment, technology, the state of the world and more."

Joining Martin, Lamar and Snoop Dogg on the album are Ty Dolla $ign, James Fauntleroy, Cordae, Channel Tres, Celeste, Kamasi Washington, YG, Robert Glasper, Hit-Boy, Malaya, D Smoke and more.

While none of them feature on "Leave Us Be," which lands alongside the album announcement, you can find out who is collaborating with who using the tracklist below.

"There are touches of R&B, touches of jazz, touches of hip-hop, touches of classical, Cuban music, West African music, house music," Martin shared of Drones in a statement. "You're going to hear all elements of Black music within this record. It's not one element I can leave out if I call myself a true Black artist."

Drones follows Martin's 2017 outing with the Pollyseeds, Sounds Of Crenshaw Vol. 1. His last solo album was 2016's Grammy-nominated Velvet Portraits.

Last year, Martin teamed with Washington, Glasper and 9th Wonder to form supergroup Dinner Party. That band released a self-titled debut EP — one of Exclaim!'s Best EPs of 2020 — ahead of serving up Dessert.


1. Turning Poison into Medicine
2. Drones (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Ty Dolla $ign, James Fauntleroy and Snoop Dogg)
3. Leave Us Be
4. Work It Out (feat. Cordae)
5. This Morning (feat. Arin Ray and Smino)
6. Tapped (feat. Channel Tres and Celeste)
7. Reflection (feat. James Fauntletroy)
8. Leimert Park
9. Griots of the Crenshaw District (feat. Kamasi Washington, Robert Glasper and Hit-Boy)
10. Evil Eyes (feat. YG and Malaya)
11. Sick of Cryin (feat. Leon Bridges and D Smoke)
12. Don't Let Go
13. Listen (feat. James Fauntleroy, Kim Burrell and Robert Glasper)