Teen Daze Returns with 'Themes for Dying Earth'

Teen Daze Returns with 'Themes for Dying Earth'
Following a foray into indie pop with Morning World last year, Teen Daze (a.k.a. Jamison Isaak) will return to exploring ambient, electronic production with his fifth studio album. Titled Themes for Dying Earth, the record will arrive early next year through his own label FLORA.

Ten tracks in length, Themes for Dying Earth is said to come from a personal place both conceptually and thematically. Along with the record's announcement, Isaak has shared opener "Cycle," which stems from his own personal experiences in dealing with mental health.

"Much of my work is inspired by nature, and it's scary to think that future generations may not have that same relationship," Isaak stated in a statement. "The album starts with 'Cycle,' a song about my personal experience dealing with anxiety and depression, and it slowly zooms out to cover some of the external forces, like climate change, that are affecting those experiences. After touring last fall, I came home so cynical and worn out, I decided take all the nervous energy I had about the world, and filter it through more optimistic, positive sounds."

Isaak isn't alone in his expression, with Themes for Dying Earth  also standing as his most collaborative record to date, featuring work with Sean Carey, Dustin Wong, Sound of Ceres, Nadia Hulett and Jon Anderson. 

"Making the last record alongside other people helped me realize that inviting additional minds to the creative process brings out the best in me," Isaak said.

Themes for Dying Earth will arrive on February 10. Read through the record's tracklisting to hear "Cycle" in the player below.

Themes for Dying Earth:

1. Cycle
2. Dream Host
3. Becoming
4. Lost
5. Cherry Blossoms
6. First Rain
7. Rising
8. Anew
9. Water in Heaven
10. Breath