Superchunk Reissue Here's Where the Strings Come In with The Clambakes Vol. 5 for Record Store Day

Superchunk Reissue <i>Here's Where the Strings Come In</i> with <i>The Clambakes Vol. 5</i> for Record Store Day
Any Superchunk fan worth their salt knows that there are goodies from the band up for grabs as part of this Saturday's Record Store Day (April 16). As previously reported, there is that Misfits-saluting split single with sludge punks Coliseum, but there will also be a repress of the North Carolina fuzz poppers' classic 1995 album, Here's Where the Strings Come In, to look forward to, as well as a bonus download of some live tracks to be presented with the reissue.

A press release from Merge explains that Here's Where the Strings Come In has been out-of-print for years and will be repressed on both CD and vinyl for RSD festivities this weekend. The 180-gram vinyl version will also contain a download of the record.

If that weren't enough, the set comes with a free download of The Clambakes Vol. 5: Cup of Clams, a live set recorded on October 16, 2003, at the Cat's Cradle in Carrboro, NC. While no one is quite sure who recorded the concert, band leader Mac McCaughan and Brian Paulson edited and mastered the recordings.

"This show took place as part of the small tour we did in 2003 in support of the Cup of Sand two-CD singles and rarities compilation," McCaughan explains of the live album. "Hence the setlist now appears kind of bizarre, as it's stocked with B-sides we've hardly ever played live ('White Noise') and then-unreleased songs like 'Knock Knock Knock,' among more familiar numbers. Sure, there are a few haphazard moves, but it wouldn't be a clambake otherwise... Hope you enjoy."

Don't you worry, Mac, we will. Check out the Cup of Clams tracklisting below.

The Clambakes Vol. 5: Cup of Clams:

1. "Tiny Bombs"

2. "The Majestic"

3. "New Low"

4. "Watery Hands"

5. "Becoming a Speck"

6. "Knock Knock Knock"

7. "Hello Hawk"

8. "Cast Iron"

9. "White Noise"

10. "Nu Bruises"

11. "Screw It Up"

12. "The First Part"

13. "100,000 Fireflies"

14. "Like a Fool"

15. "Freaks in Charge"

16. "Package Thief"

17. "Throwing Things"