Sun Kil Moon Returns with 'Among the Leaves' LP

Sun Kil Moon Returns with 'Among the Leaves' LP
Sun Kil Moon's 2010 album, Admiral Fall Promises, found band leader Mark Kozelek performing solo with his nylon string guitar. Now, he's returned to the instrument for a follow-up LP, Among the Leaves, which is due out on ay 29 through Caldo Verde Records.

While much of the record consists of solo cuts from Kozelek, an announcement from the label [via TwentyFourBit/Beats Per Minute] notes that "a new ensemble of players joined Mark for a portion of the record, recalling the same spirit as April and Tiny Cities, but with a fresh, new sound."

In a statement, the songwriter said that the 17-song collection "was written and recorded impulsively, without second guessing. I didn't have that kind of confidence in the past."

Among the Leaves is named after a John Connolly novel and it was recorded between October 2011 and January 2012. It reportedly "displays a more raw and humorous side of Mark's songwriting."

The tracklist is below. Scroll past that to see a recent performance of the new album cut "Sunshine in Chicago," which starts rights around the six-minute mark in the clip.

Among the Leaves:

1. I Know It's Pathetic But That Was The Greatest Night Of My Life
2. Sunshine In Chicago
3. The Moderately Talented Yet Attractive Young Woman vs. The Exceptionally Talented Yet Not So Attractive Middle Aged Man
4. That Bird Has A Broken Wing
5. Elaine
6. The Winery
7. Young Love
8. Song For Richard Collopy
9. Among The Leaves
10. Red Poison
11. Track Number 8
12. Not Much Rhymes With Everything's Awesome At All Times
13. King Fish
14. Lonely Mountain
15. UK Blues
16. UK Blues 2
17. Black Kite

MARK KOZELEK - Live at the Shivering Songs Festival from Mitch Fillion ( on Vimeo.