​Sum 41 Return with New '13 Voices' LP

​Sum 41 Return with New '13 Voices' LP
Ajax, ON pop-punk unit Sum 41 have been lying low since 2011's Screaming Bloody Murder, giving frontman Deryck Whibley time to recuperate from health problems and opening the door to a reunion with Dave "Brownsound" Baksh.
Following a crowdfunding campaign to finance making a new record, the band have delivered on the promise of new material. They'll release a new LP titled 13 Voices on October 7 through Hopeless Records.
"I am really excited to be releasing an album after everything I've been through recently," Whibley said in a statement. "This new music represents the journey I've been on throughout the process of making this record. I had to fall in order to rise, and nothing feels better than to have something you love that you had to really fight for."
After being hospital-bound for four months due to issues with excessive drinking, Whibley had to relearn everything from walking to playing guitar. His motor skills regained, the singer-guitarist set to recording the new album at his home studio in Los Angeles.

Whibley took on the role of producer and engineer and was backed up by founding members Baksh and bassist Cone McCaslin, as well as more recent additions Tom Thacker on guitar and backing vocals, and Frank Zummo on drums.
You can see the tracklisting for the resulting 10-song album below, which seems to reveal a bit of a preoccupation with life and death based on titles like "A Murder of Crows (You're All Dead to Me)," "Goddamn I'm Dead Again," "Fake My Own Death," "There Will Be Blood" and "God Save Us All (Death to POP)" — serving as an outlet of catharsis for Whibley.
"I can honestly say that 13 Voices saved my life and I cannot wait to share it with all of you," he said. "It was really difficult, but at the same time if I didn't have a record to make, I don't think I would have recovered as quickly. Writing music gave me a purpose. I had to get better."
The band don't currently have any Canadian dates on the docket, but you can find details of their upcoming U.S. and European shows here.
13 Voices:
1. A Murder of Crows (You're All Dead To Me)
2. Goddamn I'm Dead Again
3. Fake My Own Death
4. Breaking The Chain
5. There Will Be Blood
6. 13 Voices
7. War
8. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
9. The Fall And The Rise
10. Twisted By Design