Sufjan Stevens's Seven Swans Reimagined for New Tribute Album

Sufjan Stevens's <i>Seven Swans</i> Reimagined for New Tribute Album
Before he was parading his neon electric tape across NBC like some sort of male, indie rock version of Ke$ha, Sufjan Stevens was a soft-spoken artist who built his grandiose compositions off of woodwinds and banjo. Stevens was at his most sparse on 2004's beloved Seven Swans album. That era will soon be revisited, as many of Stevens's peers have banded together to cover the album in its entirety.

The digital album is called Seven Swans Reimagined and features contributions from Bonnie "Prince" Billy, Unwed Sailor, DM Stith, Half-Handed Cloud, Shannon Stephens and many others. The album was organized by fledgling label On Joyful Wings and has been in the work since May of this year.

Seven Swans Reimagined will be released digitally on March 22. It will also feature album artwork from Ben and Vesper. All proceeds from the release will benefit the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation.

Thanks to Pitchfork for the tip.

Seven Swans Reimagined:

1. Bonnie "Prince" Billy "All The Trees of the Field Will Clap Their Hands"

2. The Gregory Brothers "The Dress Looks Nice on You"

3. Derek Webb "In the Devil's Territory"

4. Joshua James "To Be Alone With You"

5. Damion Suomi "Abraham"

6. Unwed Sailor "Sister"

7. Wakey!Wakey! "Size Too Small"

8. Elin Smith "We Won't Need Legs to Stand"

9. DM Stith "A Good Man Is Hard to Find"

10. Half-Handed Cloud "He Woke Me Up Again"

11. Carl Hauck "Seven Swans"

12. David Crowder*Band "The Transfiguration"

13. Jason Harrod "I Went Dancing With My Sister" (B-side)

14. Shannon Stephens "Waste of What Your Kids Won't Have" (B-side)

15. Inlets "Borderline" (B-side)