Studio Ghibli Soundtracks Collected on Mondo Vinyl Release

Studio Ghibli Soundtracks Collected on Mondo Vinyl Release
Soundtrack devotees Mondo have pressed scores for live action movies like The Deadly Spawn and Drive, but they're now giving the animated world some love via a new compilation made up of tracks pulled from anime director Hayao Miyazaki's exquisitely whimsical filmography.

Titled Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokushu, the collection features tracks from five of Miyazaki's pictures for Japanese film house Studio Ghibli, as performed by the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra. This includes Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, Howl's Moving Castle, The Cat Returns and My Neighbors the Yamadas.

The double-LP set is presented in three separate gatefold covers whipped up by Mondo artist Tyler Stout, and each edition comes pressed on a different colour of vinyl. The Howl's Moving Castle edition, sporting traditional Japanese Obi and all-Japanese text, comes on purple and pink vinyl; the Princess Mononoke cover comes with red and blue vinyl; and the Spirited Away edition is pressed on yellow and green wax.

While copies were sold last weekend at the 2013 San Diego Comic-Con, the various sets go up for sale on the Mondo site this Friday (July 26). You can see the tracklisting info down below.

Studio Ghibli Kokyo Kyokushu:

1. Chapter One – The Legend of Ashitaka

2. Chapter Four – Princess Mononoke

3. Chapter Eight – Ashitaka And San

4. The Theme of My Neighbors The Yamadas – Orchestral Version

5. Takashi And Matsuko's Tango – Sinfonico

6. Always With Me – Orchestral Version

7. A Mysterious World

8. The Moving Castle

9. War War War

10. Cave Of The Mind

11. The Baron

12. Pastorale

13. Haru's Memories

Tracks 1-3 From Symphonic Suite Princess Mononoke

Tracks 4-5 From My Neighbors The Yamadas – Classical Album

Track 6 From Spirited Away

Tracks 7-10 From Howl's Moving Castle – Image Symphonic Suite

Tracks 11-13 From The Cat Returns – Original Soundtrack Album