Stone Temple Pilots Treat 'Core' to Massive 25th Anniversary Reissue

Stone Temple Pilots Treat 'Core' to Massive 25th Anniversary Reissue
While Stone Temple Pilots suffered the sad death of vocalist Scott Weiland in 2015, the alt-rock heroes will be looking back to their very beginnings this year. This fall, the band will treat their 1992 debut Core to a seriously massive 25th anniversary reissue.

The sprawling package will arrive as a remastered deluxe reissue on September 29 via Rhino. As is so often the case, the reissue comes as a variety of packages.

The most fancy package is the Core Super Deluxe Edition, which includes four CDs, a vinyl copy of the album, a DVD and a photo book. Among all those discs, there will be the remastered original album, in addition to two hours of of unreleased demos and live performances. This includes the group's MTV Unplugged performance, with the photo book arriving as a 12x12 hardcover with rare and unseen pics.

There's also an "exclusive" pre-order version of this edition that throws in a replica 7-inch of "Plush," which originally came out in the UK in 1993. This version is limited to the first 1,000 pre-orders.

You can pre-order the Super Deluxe Edition here and see what it looks like above. The tracklist is below.

If you'd like to be a bit less hardcore about Core, you can order a two-CD Deluxe Edition, which contains the remastered original album, as well as the B-sides and demos. There's even a single disc version of simply the remastered album up for grabs as well.

You can learn all about the various bundles over here. At the bottom of the page, you can also listen to a demo of "Sex Type Thing."

Core Super Deluxe Edition:

Disc One (Original Album Remastered):

1. Dead & Bloated

2. Sex Type Thing

3. Wicked Garden

4. No Memory

5. Sin

6. Naked Sunday

7. Creep

8. Piece of Pie

9. Plush

10. Wet My Bed

11. Crackerman

12. Where the River Goes

Disc Two (Demos and B-sides):

1. Only Dying – Demo *

2. Wicked Garden – Demo *

3. Naked Sunday – Demo *

4. Where the River Goes – Demo *

5. Dead & Bloated – Demo *

6. Sex Type Thing – Demo *

7. Sin – Demo *

8. Creep – Demo *

9. Plush – Demo *

10. Sex Type Thing – Swing Type Version

11. Plush – Acoustic Type Version

12. Creep – New Album Version

13. Plush – Acoustic from MTV Headbanger's Ball (Take 1)

Disc Three (Live 1993):

Live At Castaic Lake Natural Amphitheater (July 2, 1993):

1. Crackerman *

2. Wicked Garden *

3. No Memory *

4. Sin *

5. Plush *

6. Where the River Goes *

7. Sex Type Thing *

8. Wet My Bed *

9. Naked Sunday *

Live at the Reading Festival (August 27, 1993):

10. Wicked Garden

11. No Memory *

12. Sin

13. Lounge Fly *

14. Dead & Bloated

15. Sex Type Thing

16. Naked Sunday *

Disc Four (MTV Unplugged – November 17, 1993):

1. Crackerman

2. Creep *

3. Andy Warhol

4. Plush *

5. Big Empty *

6. Wicked Garden *

7. Sex Type Thing *

Disc Five (DVD – Original Album 5.1 Mix, 24/96 Stereo Audio, And Music Videos)

* previously unreleased