Steve Bays' Hot Hot Heat Offshoot Fur Trade Sign to Last Gang for Debut Album

Steve Bays' Hot Hot Heat Offshoot Fur Trade Sign to Last Gang for Debut Album
BC pop crew Hot Hot Heat have been pretty quiet the last couple of years, but singer/keyboardist Steve Bays has been plenty busy outside of his regular band duties. Earlier this year, we learned he had got together with Hawksley Workman and Limblifter's Ryan Dahle as Mounties, and now Bays has announced a new LP with another project, Fur Trade. The duo deliver their debut LP Don't Get Heavy on July 23 via Last Gang Records.

A press release notes that Bays and partner Parker Bossley, who currently plays in the Gay Nineties and used to sling bass in Hot Hot Heat, prepped the set at Bays' Vancouver studio Tugboat Pl. Bays handled synth and drum duties, while Bossley took on guitar and bass; both men take their turn at the mic. The LP apparently takes influence from electronic music, the psychedelic work of composer Piero Piccioni, and the funkiness of Rick James and Bootsy Collins.

Ahead of the album's release, the act have put up first single "Kids These Days" and a remix up on iTunes. You can check out the original in the video down below.

Supposedly, songwriting sessions were a snap, but Bays and Bossley took their time preparing the final product.

"We usually write songs quickly. 'Kids These Days' was done in one night. We can write a song in one session, but then we'll go back to the studio and take it down the 'rabbit hole,'"  Bays said in a statement, adding, "with electronic music, the mixing is just as important as the songwriting. You can't take that for granted." 

Don't Get Heavy:

1. Don't Get Heavy
2. Kids These Days
3. Voyager
4. Same Temptation
5. Glory Daze
6. In Between Dreams
7. Praying To The Lottery Ticket God
8. Acid Summer
9. Burning The Locals
10. Our Life Starts Now
11. Can You Dig It? (Yes I Can)
12. Pleasure Bound