Steph Cameron Signs to Pheromone Recordings for 'Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady'

Steph Cameron Signs to Pheromone Recordings for 'Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady'
A couple of months back, British Columbia folksinger Steph Cameron played a Pheromone Recordings showcase during NXNE, so it's not too much of a surprise that she has announced her debut album for the label. Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady will be out on September 23.

The album was recorded over only three days at Toronto's Revolution Recording. The original plan had been to record a single song with Pheromone founder Kim Cooke, and the session went so well that they ended up finishing 13 tunes. The album was recorded to tape with help from Joe Dunphy and Jack Clow.

It's perhaps not a coincidence that Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady's title sounds rather similar to Bob Dylan's classic song "Sad-Eyed Lady of the Lowlands," since a press release points to influences from classic '60s folk and describes the results as having "an undeniably retro feel." It was made after Pheromone heard Cameron's initial bedroom demo.

Scroll past the tracklist below to hear the intricately finger-picked opening folk cut "Railroad Boy."

Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady:

1. Railroad Boy
2. Sad-Eyed Lonesome Lady
3. Goodbye Molly
4. Glory
5. Poppa, You Can Take Me Home
6. Interlude One
7. Blues at My Window
8. Five Dollars
9. Cry Baby
10. Ellis Pine
11. Bury Me Where Wild Roses Grow
12. Interlude Two
13. Many Miles to Go